Blue Cheese Beans


I don’t know about you, but green beans…they’re just not at the top of my vegetable eating list. They’re a little bit plain, a wintertime staple pulled from the freezer when inspiration fails you – steamed and slapped on a plate, maybe with a little butter and pepper. Those beans, they don’t inspire me.

My mom makes an amazing Christmas dinner every year. The star of the meal is always the protein – either crown roast of pork, or a beautiful herb-crusted prime rib as we had this year. But then Mom served up these green beans. Glistening with a light coating of melted blue cheese and garnished with pecans and dried cranberries…I had three helpings. Everyone had seconds. There wasn’t a bean left at the end of dinner. And I’ll tell you, I’d rather have a second or third helping of those beans than that perfect prime rib. It was a green bean conversion experience.

You need to start with fresh green beans for this recipe, and even though it’s far from bean season…they were on sale at Whole Foods this weekend, so I went for it. A little dab of good, creamy blue cheese, and a few chopped nuts and dried cherries or cranberries, and you’re in business. Make these. Now. Soon. Often. You won’t be sorry.


Blue Cheese Laced Beans with Cherries & Pecans
Serves 2 (multiply at will)
From Cook’s Country Magazine

2 cups fresh green beans, stemmed, washed and cut in half
1oz blue cheese – something on the pungent and creamy side
2 T toasted, chopped pecans
2 T tart, dried cherries, chopped
1 T olive oil

  1. Heat a large nonstick pan over medium heat. Add the oil, and when shimmering, add the beans. Toss to coat in oil, and sear for 2 minutes. Put a lid on the pan and cook for 2 minutes, allowing the beans to steam a bit. Take the lid off, and try a bean to see if they’re cooked, and still have a little crunch to them.
  2. When they’re done to your liking, turn the burner off, crumble the cheese over the beans and toss to coat in the melting cheese. Scoop the beans into a serving dish or onto plates and top with the chopped nuts and cherries. EAT!

6 thoughts on “Blue Cheese Beans

  1. Hi! Been a long time since I’ve written (busy year with the new baby who has just turned 1!!) but I’ve been keeping an eye on your recipes and notes! I just wanted to say that I heart green beans! The way that I make them is to toss them, fresh or frozen (if no fresh) into a hot evoo oiled pan and let them soak up the heat for a minute or two. Then, I splash a couple good splashes of balsamic vinegar* (cover your eyes!!), let it reduce a bit, chuck a pat or two of butter in and a good pinch of salt and pepper. Oh my! Even my hubby will eat them like that!

    Alas, I really hate** blue cheese, otherwise I’d make this dish because it really looks amazing with the toppins’ you recommend. Wonder if another cheese would work just as well?

    Hope you’ve been well,

    Teresa =)

    *I think you have some of the best vinegars you can get your mitts on! Jealous!

    **Not an understatement.

    • Teresa!!! Your baby is nearly ONE?! Congratulations, momma! Mmm, green beans with balsamic sound delicious – I’ll try that next…I have endured the vinegar fumes, so I know that pain! I think these cheesy beans would also be delicious with a mild goat cheese, if you like that sort of thing.

      And yes, I am spoiled by some amazing vinegars…though they are available online at oldtownoil.com!

      Congrats again – I’ve missed our conversations here!

  2. We love green beans at our house! But I’m just making this dish up for dinner this evening, and I already know it will be great. I love this blog and all its excellent advice and I really want to link it to my own. Mind if I do?(I have a page on mine listing nutrition resources for my patients).

    • Nancy, thank you so much for the compliments – and I hope you enjoy the beans – it’s so simple, but so good! I would be honored if you would link to my blog! Thanks for spreading the Whole Kitchen love!

Leave a Reply

