Lamb Chops with Sour Cherry & Mustard Sauce

Hello, friends! It’s been awhile since I’ve stopped by…I’ve written a lot of blog posts in my head in the last 2 wild months, but none of them have leaked out of my head and into the keyboard, and honestly, I’m not going to feel bad about neglecting you – though I have missed you all, and the food conversations we have here. I’ve tweeted out some of my favorite recipes, and shared others on Facebook, just to create the illusion that there’s cooking going on in The Whole Kitchen.

And there is some cooking happening…but definitely not the more elaborate meals I made in the past. Now, if it can’t be made in 15-20 minutes – it’s not happening on a weeknight. Weekend prep is more critical than ever to ensure that we get healthy meals on the table. Mostly, I’ve become the scrambled egg gourmand. Chilaquiles, Huevos Rancheros, egg scrambles where I toss the contest of our CSA box into the saute pan, crack in a few eggs in and then serve with warm tortillas – that’s the kind of thing that I’m digging right now. Simple, healthy, fast, and high-protein.

I’ve spent the summer trying to figure this new life out. Working at Edelman Digital is a wildly different world than the non-profit sector, and I’ve been putting in a lot of hours getting up to speed with the team. Most days, I’m pretty exhausted by the time I get home, but spending my days in a fast paced, challenging environment surrounded by other super-smart digital nerds – it’s pretty awesome. A few months from now, I expect I’ll wake up and know exactly what makes my job tick, how to succeed – AND get myself home in time for dinner (sometimes)…it’s a learning process and I’m trying to be patient with myself.

In the meantime, if you have 15 minutes, a husband off on vacation while you punch the clock, and a couple of lonely lamb chops in the freezer…this recipe is for you. A dinner for one of the highest caliber, inspired by the chef I used to work with way back in my server days. Chef Randy introduced me to the magic of this sour cherry, mustard, sherry sauce paired with lamb, and it’s a secret I haven’t forgotten. If you can still find sour cherries in the farmer’s market where you are (or in the freezer section), give this one a try.

How have you spent your summer? Share your favorite summer memory – dancing in the sunshine, hitting the beach, luscious summer reading – whatever you’ve done to make the most of this season…OR, tell me what you love to cook with all the fresh produce of summer.

Lamb Chops with Sour Cherry Mustard Sauce
Serves 1 

2 Lamb Chops, about an inch thick
1 T whole grain mustard
1 T butter
2 T grapeseed oil
½ cup fresh sour cherries, pitted, with ¼ cup of the cherry juice
3 T sherry
salt & pepper

  1. Wash and pat the chops dry with paper towel. Sprinkle with salt & pepper & set aside.
  2. Heat a heavy stainless steel pan over medium high heat. When the pan is hot, add the oil and when the oil is shimmering, gently lay the chops in the pan, and sear for 1 ½ minutes, then turn over, and cook for another 1 ½ – 2 minutes for medium chops.
  3. Remove the chops from the pan and set aside on a plate. Add the sour cherries, juice, sherry and mustard to the pan, and stir for a minute, letting everything reduce just a bit. Add the butter to the pan and stir, cook for 1-2 more minutes, until the sauce thickens slightly.
  4. Pour the pan sauce over the chops, and enjoy. A feast for 1!
*Apologies for the blurry photo…the husband went on vacay with the fancy camera, and all I had was a cell phone. 10x more delicious than this blurry image – I promise! 

3 thoughts on “Lamb Chops with Sour Cherry & Mustard Sauce

  1. hi Jenn! I’ve missed you! I know exactly what you mean about the quickish meals. I used to hang out in the kitchen for 2 hours on some weeknights, with no qualms – now cooking is 60 minutes or less, preferably 30.

    glad to hear the new job is going well, and that you’re keeping busy! give Chicago a big squeeze for me🙂.

    • Aww, I’ve missed you too, Heather! I haven’t even had time to READ what you’re up to on your blog (or any blog) this summer….but hoping to catch up on all the news next weekend when I’m going to take a couple days off! Will definitely give Chicago a squeeze for you!

  2. Great to see you back here, Jenn🙂 This recipe looks and sounds delish! Hope you’re learning and experiencing lots of awesome things at Edelman🙂 My fave summer experience – brisk-walking around the lake next to my home. Loving the tan🙂

Leave a Reply

