Brussels Sprouts Salad with Walnuts

I could post at least three more turkey recipes for you, but I think you and I can agree that we’re done with Thanksgiving foods for awhile and it’s time to move on to the next holiday. The 20lb turkey we got from our meat farm share was a LOT for our 2-person household – even after sharing the feast with friends, turkey fed us for 10 days straight, for lunch and dinner each day. Whew!

After the holiday feasts, it’s time to lighten things up, so we’re eating more salads, healthy soups and this brussels sprout salad, inspired by Shauna. If you’ve been hanging around the Whole Kitchen for awhile, you probably know that I’m crazy about cabbage, and will turn it into salads, slaws and soups as often as I can. And since brussels sprouts are like tiny little cabbages, I knew I’d love this salad as soon as Shauna posted it.

Brussels season in Chicago is on the way out, but if you’re lucky you might be able to find a few stragglers at the grocery. If not, thinly shredded cabbage will work nearly as well in this salad, it just won’t have the beautiful fluttery look of those thin ribbons of sprouts. The magic of this salad is chopped walnuts, a few grates of hard cheese and a simple vinaigrette. Crunchy, savory, salty, and a little tart – I will happily eat a big bowl of this salad for an entire meal.

What’s your favorite way to eat brussels sprouts? Or, what kind of salads are you making to balance the sweets and treats of the holiday season? Share in the comments below…

Shaved Brussels Sprout Salad
Serves 2
Adapted from Shauna Ahern, Gluten Free Girl

2 cups of raw brussels sprouts, thinly sliced into ribbons
3 T toasted walnuts, chopped into small pieces
¼ cup finely grated aged gouda or parmesan
2 tsp champagne vinegar
1 tsp dijon mustard (Mustard Girl is my local favorite)
½ tsp honey
3 T walnut or olive oil
salt & lots of pepper

  1. Wash the brussels sprouts and remove any wilted outer leaves. Using your chef knife, slice the sprouts into super thin ribbons, discarding the tough stem ends. Toss the shredded sprouts into a mixing bowl along with the chopped walnuts.
  2. Make the vinaigrette: Combine the oil, vinegar, mustard, honey, pinch of salt and about ½ tsp of ground pepper and whisk with a fork to emulsify into a dressing. Pour the dressing over the sprouts and toss together with tongs to coat all of the sprouts. Sprinkle the cheese on and toss one more time before serving.

5 thoughts on “Brussels Sprouts Salad with Walnuts

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Brussels Sprouts Salad with Walnuts « The Whole Kitchen -- Topsy.com

  2. I recently discovered that I LOVE roasted brussel sprouts (so much so that I found myself eating the leftovers cold out of the fridge). Now I’m intrigued by other ways to prepare them. This recipe looks tempting!

    • Oh yes, I’m with you, Kristen – I’ll eat leftover sprouts cold, straight from the fridge! I just love them! I thought I’d had the last of them for the season, but was thrilled to find giant stalks of them on sale at Trader Joe’s this week. I sauteed some shredded brussels up this morning with a little bacon fat, onion and lots of pepper and topped it with a poached egg – heaven!

  3. I’d never tried brussels sprouts, but a bunch arrived in my farm share… so I came to your blog. This was a great intro to sprouts! I added half a diced apple for a bit of autumn sweetness, and served next to dijon-glazed corned beef that simmered in the crock pot all day. Delicious. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

