Chilean Country Ribs

Summer, where did you go? It seems I’ve been an absentee blogger lately, but I’m okay with that. This summer has been a non-stop marathon of biking, training for the half-marathon, running smaller races and working…the days disappear faster than a plate of freshly grilled ribs.

I’ve no idea if these ribs are in fact Chilean. I’ll have to take Norm Van Aken’s word for it, but I do know that these are GOOD. I was a little stumped when I pulled the butcher paper wrapped package of country ribs from the freezer. We receive our meat from an organic, pasture-raised farm, so I don’t choose what kind/cuts of meat appear in my freezer each month. I love the surprise of digging through the bag of meat each month to see what will be appearing on our table.

Country ribs aren’t something I was overly familiar with – I’d made a braised dish with some I received last year, but when I unwrapped these ribs, they looked more like elongated pork chops than something I’d do a long braise with, so I decided to go trolling on Epicurious for some inspiration.

It didn’t take long to come up with this recipe from Norm. The marinade looked like it might set my mouth on fire, but I trusted that not all of the fresh chile heat would end up on the plate. The touch of honey in the marinade gave a nice balance to the acidity of the vinegar, and the chile spice was just right after grilling – not too hot for me at all! We should have made 2 meals out of these four ribs, but we couldn’t resist finishing the whole plate and gnawing every last scrap of flavorful meat from the bones.

Chilean Country Ribs
Adapted from Epicurious, Norm Van AkenNew World Kitchen
Serves 2-4

2 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
2 serrano chiles, stemmed, seeded, and roughly chopped
2 T chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, chopped
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/3 cup red wine vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
2 tsp honey
1 1/2 pounds country pork ribs (4 ribs, in our package, 1/2” thick each)

  1. Combine all ingredients except ribs in a small bowl and whisk together. Place ribs in a large ziploc bag and pour the marinade over the ribs. Seal the bag, squeezing any air out, then place on a plate and stash in the fridge for 8 hours, turning the ribs over in the fridge every couple hours, or whenever you think of it when you open the fridge.
  2. When ready to cook, preheat the grill. Remove the ribs from the marinade, brushing most of the chunks off, and set the ribs on a plate to come to room temperature while the grill heats. Grill for 4 minutes on one side over 450-500 degree heat. Turn, then grill for 3 more minutes. Remove the ribs and set on a clean plate to rest for 5 minutes before serving.

4 thoughts on “Chilean Country Ribs

  1. 2 meals?! i don’t blame you for eating those in one sitting – i totally would have😉. i generally agree with you on the CSA meat front, but last time we got some lamb steaks and i’m none too fond. i marinated/grilled 2 of them last week and they were more fat than meat. for the other 2, maybe i’ll just cut the meat off and throw in a stew….

    • Well, I did share them with Mark, at least…not such a glutton, right?! Oh, I LOVE lamb steaks – give them to me next time!🙂 I do like a little fat on my meat, especially when grilled – it’s nothing to be afraid of – fat-phobia is a raft of bad nutritional information sold to you by the government…but that’s a whole other conversation.😉

    • Yeah, these were way better than I expected – will definitely make again. Still trying to figure out what to do with the other 1qt of serranos that came in the CSA. That’s a lot of HOT peppers!

      Sadly, our calendar is not slowing down…next opening in November. UGH. #waytoobusy

Leave a Reply

