A Birthday Wish for a World with Less Cancer

Dear readers, you’ve probably noticed that I’ve been talking incessantly about running the last few weeks, and even posted a few pictures from my first race experiences.  I’ve decided to share with you today why I’m running the Chicago Rock n Roll Half-Marathon on August 1.

I’m privileged to work at the American Cancer Society every day.  I’m inspired daily when I hear staff and volunteers share their experiences of helping cancer patients get to treatment, get the care they need, or simply talk to a volunteer who has been where they are in the cancer journey.  So I’m dedicating my training to help the American Cancer Society save lives. The miles and months of training are tough, but I’m getting it done with the support of a great team and keeping my friends and family who’ve battled cancer in my thoughts when the miles get long. And I’m hoping you’ll support me in my efforts.

Most of us have been touched by cancer in some way. I’m running my race for my mom who has beaten cancer more times than I can count and who is a constant inspiration. For my mother-in-law ViviAnne whose Sisu (Finnish for courage) in the face of cancer was formidable and we miss her every day. I’m running for my Uncle Harry, a tough man with a heart of pure gold, who lost his battle 4 years ago. I’m running for my family’s dear friend Carol, who I know would love to cook with me, were she still with us. Can I run for someone you love, too?

When I cross that finish line, I will be doing it for you and for all the people we know who’ve been touched by this disease. More than 11 million Americans who have a history of cancer will celebrate another birthday this year. Please support me with a donation so that together, with the American Cancer Society, we can help save lives and create a world with less cancer and more birthdays.

If you’d like me to run for someone you love who has beaten this disease or lost their fight, donate $50 or more, and I will wear a ribbon with their name on the back of my jersey on race day. I’ll even send you a picture of all the people I’m carrying on my back as I make my way to the 13.2 mile marker. If $50 isn’t quite your style, perhaps you’d like to torture me in training…for a mere $25 donation, I’ll add a song of your choosing to my running playlist. Do your worst – I can take it!

I hope you’ll share an encouraging word if you see me in the next couple months as I keep running and increasing those miles…and if you feel so moved, I’d love for you to support me in running for the DetermiNation team and hitting my $1,500 fundraising goal so that we can keep kicking cancer’s ass!

Today is my birthday, and the only gift I want is a world with less cancer and more birthdays! I hope you’ll consider supporting me as I run for the American Cancer Society.

If you have some encouraging words or want to share how you’ve been touched by cancer, leave a note in the comments. If you enjoy the blog, consider making a small gift to support cancer patients everywhere.

Thanks, and we’ll be back to the regularly scheduled food discussion soon.

-Jenn


2 thoughts on “A Birthday Wish for a World with Less Cancer

  1. Happy Birthday!
    I think you know how we have been touched by cancer.
    Good luck in your running!
    Emily’s Mom

    • Awww, thanks Sara! Of course, I’m running for Emily too…or maybe I’m running *because* of Emily – how can you resist her love for the DetermiNation program? I couldn’t. 😉

Leave a Reply

