Roasted Rhubarb with White Wine and Vanilla


Rhubarb is one of my favorite things about spring. The first “fruit” out of the ground in the Midwest, rhubarb is plentiful in the early growing season, and I love to stock up on as much as I can, so I can sock some away in the freezer for winter. I bookmarked this rhubarb recipe as soon as Molly had posted it to Orangette…and then as bookmarks go, I promptly forgot about it until Shauna posted it among a list of drool-worthy rhubarb recipes to Gluten Free Girl and the Chef. It was a sign from the blogs that the big bunch of rhubarb lurking in the fridge was bound for roasting.

I’d never roasted rhubarb before, and I’m certain I would never have thought about it without Molly’s help. Now that I’ve tried it, I think this is going to be my go-to method for making rhubarb sauce and compote. The even heat of the oven is far more gentle than bringing it to a boil on the stove, so the finished dish leaves you with meltingly tender chunks of intact rhubarb. The combination of rhubarb and vanilla is genius – as the rhubarb bakes, the smell of vanilla fills the house and makes it seem like the timer will never ding so that you can dig your spoon into the pot. The white wine adds a little mystery and sophistication to the mix – the compote doesn’t taste like wine per-se, but the sugary syrup has a wonderful flavor that’s definitely enhanced by the wine.

The roasted rhubarb would be amazing spooned over some steel cut oats, greek yogurt, or ice cream, but I fear I may never find out, as my spoon keeps reaching into the container each time I open the fridge.

Roasted Rhubarb
As seen on Orangette, who was inspired by
Canal House Cooking, Volume 3
Yield: 4 to 6 servings, depending on how greedy you are…be greedy.😉

For the wine, I used a light Sauvignon Blanc with bright, fruity flavors.

2 lb. rhubarb, trimmed and cut into 3-inch lengths
½ cup sugar
½ cup crisp white wine
1 vanilla bean, split

  1. Set a rack in the lower third of the oven, and preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Put the rhubarb in a Dutch oven or other deep oven-safe pot. Add the sugar, wine, and vanilla bean, and stir to mix. Bake (uncovered) for about 30 minutes, or until very tender, giving the pot a gentle stir about midway through to ensure that the rhubarb cooks evenly.

134 cal per 1/2 cup, 0.3g fat, 440mg potassium, 28g carbs, 3g fiber, 22g sugars, 1.3g protein

4 thoughts on “Roasted Rhubarb with White Wine and Vanilla

    • Thanks, Heather! I hope we get some in the CSA too – and I’m getting so impatient – I want it to start NOW! I get overwhelmed sometimes at the farmer’s market, and I like that the CSA bosses me around and tells me what to eat!🙂

  1. Wow, I haven’t had rhubarb in SO long until Grace and I went out for my birthday and had it in sorbet. I haven’t seen it for sale anywhere yet, but I need to look harder. This looks amazing. Probably one of my favorite fruits too. So good!

    • Check your farmer’s market this weekend, James – rhubarb may have passed CO by already if it’s gotten hot out there already, though to be honest, I’m not even sure if it grows in arid/high altitude climates. But if you find it – this recipe is amazing!

Leave a Reply

