Meet Me at Perennial, May 4


I’ve been friends with Lisa Williams for about 7 years. When I was working at The Cradle, she owned the print shop that I used for the organization’s printing. Occasionally, Lisa & I would go road tripping to a press check or out to lunch – or both! I’ve always had a great time hanging out with Lisa – she’s the friend that makes everyone feel welcome, even if it’s the first time you’ve met, and she asks really good questions. I love good questions.  Lisa later left her print shop and I left The Cradle, and we lost touch until Facebook brought us together again last year.

As we reconnected, I learned that Lisa was now gluten-free too! And, she went to culinary school (where she was forced to eat wheat – eeeek!) and now consults as a private chef/teacher to help families cope with food allergies and show them that good food is not only possible, but it can be easy, too. Needless to say, I’m a big fan of her work. She’s also out in the community at tons of celiac events and doing cooking demos. When she’s not doing all of that, she hosts bi-monthly dinners for “allergenistas” at some of the BEST restaurants in Chicago. You should come.

Lisa works with the chefs of top-notch Chicago restaurants to develop menus for us that are allergen-free AND delicious. She ensures that the chefs know how to clean their kitchens properly to cook for us, and the meal is always superb. Like many folks with celiac, I rarely eat out, and when I do, it’s always with fear that a careless cook will make me ill. Mostly, it’s not worth the risk. But going out with Lisa to one of the Safe & Sound Dinners – well, it’s a dinner party I always look forward to. And trust me, the conversation around the table is as good as the food. Meet me at Perennial on May 4, and you’ll see.

Tuesday, May 4th, 2010
Time: 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Perennial
1800 North Lincoln Avenue
Chicago, IL
$50 per person

Family-Style Menu
First Course:Chicken lollipops, sherry vinaigrette, carrot and cabbage slaw, orange glaze

Second Course: Green asparagus salad, marinated wild mushrooms, frisse

Third Course: Grilled pork belly, cauliflower, roasted potatoes and Grilled chicken, spring peas, roasted carrots

Dessert: Swirlz cupcakes – Flavor to Be Announced

Not only has a great menu planned, get ready to carry home a gift bag packed with allergen swag from gluten-free favorites like:
– Bob’s Red Mill
– Mixes from the Heartland
– Whole Foods Market
– Pamela’s Mixes
– Peanut Free Planet
– Ener-G
– Risotto Chips from New York Style

For more information on Lisa Williams, Safe & Sound Dinners, or to register for the May 4th Dinner at Perennial, please visit Lisa Cooks Allergen Free. See you May 4!

6 thoughts on “Meet Me at Perennial, May 4

  1. I do not have wheat allergies(that I know of) but since meeting yet another person who does and being in her company, I am getting an education when it comes to choosing products when shopping.
    I didn’t realize how many things have some form of wheat listed in their ingredients.
    This really is a huge life change.
    And, I don’t mean it to sound so dramatic but I realize that this takes diligence so workshops like the one above is very needed.
    Wish I lived closer.

    • Celeste – I think once you start to hear about food allergies, you really start to notice that talk of food allergies pop up quite a lot these days. There’s a lot of us with allergies and sensitivities – no doubt all the processed food and questionable American diet have a lot to do with it. It is a huge life change to cut wheat/dairy/nuts/etc, but it’s also the best thing I’ve ever done for myself and my health! Thanks for your comment!

  2. Jenn,
    Thanks so much for the kind words, no one ever told me I ask good questions. Getting back in touch with you has been such a blessing, can’t wait to see you on the 4th.

Leave a Reply

