Roasted Potato Wedges with Garlic Oil and Mustard

Living gluten-free means culling most junk food from your diet. I’m happy about this in general, as it has helped me lose about 50lbs since my gluten-filled days of yore. One thing that I do miss every now and again is french fries. Hand-cut fries like they have at Moody’s Pub, or fancy frites with garlic aioli from the Hopleaf. Alas, these fried treasures are off my list now – I can’t risk getting contaminated by fryer oil that may have been used to fry battered foods.

When my craving for french fries kicks in, I go straight to the fridge, dig out a few local potatoes and whip up a batch of oven roasted potato wedges with whatever spices sound good at the moment. They’re not deep-fried, but with a thin sheen of olive oil coating every wedge, and roasted at a high temp…these little spudly gems are better than just about anything out of a fryer.

This week, I went for a new combo – I used a tablespoon of that beautiful garlic oil leftover from making the Mojo de Ajo, a liberal sprinkle of my favorite Back of the Yards pepper blend, and a good dollop of my new favorite whole-grain mustard from Mustard Girl. The finished potato wedges are a perfect side with your pork chops, burger or even just a green salad. The garlic oil is subtle in the finished wedges, but the tangy addition of mustard really stands out, with toasted seeds clinging to every wedge. Next time, I’m going to whip up some garlic aioli to go with them, and imagine that I’m eating at Hopleaf.


What’s your favorite way to eat your ‘taters? Share the spud love in the comments section below!

Oven Roasted Potatoes with Garlic Oil and Mustard
Serves 2

4 smallish russet potatoes, scrubbed and sliced into wedges (about 3 cups total, when sliced)
1 1/2 T garlic olive oil (or plain olive oil)
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 1/2 T whole grain mustard
fresh ground black pepper to taste
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees, and place a sheet pan in the oven while the oven preheats.
  2. Combine all the ingredients in a bowl, and toss to coat the potatoes with the spices and oil. Remove the hot sheet pan from the oven, and spray with oil. Turn the potato wedges out onto the sheet in one layer. Roast for 25 minutes, then carefully flip the potatoes using a metal spatula (to prevent sticking to the pan), and roast for another 25 minutes. If you want them to be a little crispier, pop them under the broiler for 3-5 minutes, but watch carefully so they don’t burn. Serve the wedges hot from the oven. Homemade BBQ sauce is optional but highly recommended.

201 cal/serving, 100 cal from fat, 10.6g fat, 0mg cholesterol, 480mg sodium, 5mg potassium, 27g carbs, 4g protein

6 thoughts on “Roasted Potato Wedges with Garlic Oil and Mustard

  1. The potatoes look so yummy! In your first image above, are those zucchini’s? How did you season them? I love zucchini’s but still don’t know how to eat them at home.

  2. Those are cucumbers…our downtown farmstand has these adorable small hydroponic cukes that are grown locally, and they’re crisp and fresh as the middle of summer – I can’t get enough of them!

    Zucchini and I have a rockier relationship. I don’t like them when they’re mushy. So either I put them in a morrocan veggie stew for a winter application (add to the stew about 10min before the stew is done cooking, or in the summer, I love to take small ones and slice them in 1/3″ thick slices lengthwise, toss with olive oil, salt + whatever spices you like (cumin + brown mustard are a favorite of ours), then grill 3min per side until they’re just a wee bit charred.

  3. I like what you’ve suggested for the zucchini’s. I’m making grilled fish later this week and the zucchini’s will go perfectly with them. Thanks Jenn!

Leave a Reply

