Sweet Potato Soup with Chorizo

Saturday morning, I awoke with a very sore throat. Fearing that this was the harbinger of Mark’s cold come to roost, I decided to hit it with everything (natural) that I had. So, out came the vegetable juicer and I dove into my carrot-ginger-celery juice regime, brewed endless pots of “tea” with grated ginger, honey and lemon and topped it off with a few mugs of peppermint tea.  By mid-morning, I’d pushed back against the cold and could actually both swallow and breathe through my nose…I could feel that victory was mine for the taking.

Knowing that root veggies are full of good antioxidants and vitamins that my immune system needed, I went for the knock-out punch and whipped up a big pot of Jamie Oliver’s Sweet Potato Soup that Shauna had posted about over on Pork, Knife and Spoon. The components of this soup are so simple, that this is a case where I’d really insist that you use homemade chicken stock. It makes such a difference in the depth of your soups, and it’s cheaper to make your own, too.

Jamie used spanish chorizo in his version, but I adore the fresh Mexican chorizo made by the butchers at my local Mexican produce market, so that’s what I used. I can live without most of the fat in chorizo, so I saute it first, and then drain it well on three sheets of paper towel. If you’re vegetarian, simply omit the chorizo, and add a heaping tablespoon of smoked paprika to the simmering soup, to add that smoky dimension – I bet it would be just as good. The soup came together in under an hour, and I love how you can taste every ingredient – sweets and carrots are highlighted by the spicy curry and chorizo. By Sunday morning, I was feeling better, and I’m giving this soup some of the credit.

What’s your favorite way to eat sweet potatoes? Discuss in the comment section…

Sweet Potato and Chorizo Soup
Adapted from Jamie’s Food Revolution
Serves 8

1 quart chicken stock, (the good homemade stuff that jiggles when chilled)
3 cups water
1.5 T grapeseed oil
3 carrots, peeled and chopped
2 celery stalks, chopped
2 medium onions, peeled and rough chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 ¾ pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
8oz Mexican Chorizo
1/2 cup fresh parsley, minced
2 T Madras curry powder (or to taste, if you don’t want too much heat)
3 T cooking sherry
kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  1. Bring a large (10qt+) pot to medium heat. Crumble the Mexican chorizo into the pot in one layer. Cook, stirring occasionally, for 3-4 minutes, rendering out a good amount of fat. Line a small plate with three layers of paper towel and scoop the sausage out of the pot and onto the paper towel to drain. Fold the edges of the paper towel over the chorizo and press to squeeze out more fat. Set aside. Wipe out the pot, and return it to medium-high heat
  2. Pour in the oil. Put all the chopped veggies into the hot oil. Add half of the curry powder and mix it all up. Cook until the carrots have softened but are not falling apart and the onions have turned a little golden, about 10 minutes.
  3. Pour in the stock and water. Give the soup a stir, cover and bring to to a boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer the soup uncovered until the sweet potato is cooked through, about 10 minutes.
  4. Season the soup with salt and pepper. Stir. Taste. Season it to your taste, adding another spoon of curry if you like it a little hotter (note: the curry will intensify overnight).
  5. Blend the soup with an immersion blender (easiest) or by pouring it into a large blender or food processor. Add the cooking sherry, and stir to incorporate. Garnish with a bit more parsley and serve.

258cal/serving, 13.4g fat, 27.2g carbs, 9.1g protein, 5.5g fiber, 8.1g sugar, 523mg sodium, 41.1mg cholesterol, 603mg potassium

3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Soup with Chorizo

  1. that soup looks awesome! you really took control of your cold! i like to wallow in it and sit around the house😉.

    as for the sweet potatoes, i like fries, pie, biscuits, soup, casserole, pancakes, whatever. it’s one of my very favorite foods so i could go on and on!

  2. Yep, doing our best to slay the cold around here. I’ve used 5lbs of carrots in the last 48 hours between eating/cooking and juicing them. Oy.

    Mmmm, sweet potato bisquits – I bet you have a killer recipe for that! I wanna see that on your blog, so I can adapt it…I’m finally getting the hang of the GF baking!

Leave a Reply

