New Year, New Cookbook

Happy New Year, dear blog readers! It’s that time of year when the legions of food bloggers reflect upon the past year, and march forward into the new decade (eek!) with good cheer and thoughts of reformation after a week of wine, cookies and eating entirely too much.

I’m not one for extreme New Year’s Resolutions, but if you’re with me in re-dedicating to eating healthy, natural, whole foods – I’ve got just the thing for you!

For Christmas gifts for the family this year, I created a cookbook of some of my favorite meals/posts from 2009. I designed the book myself, copy-edited it (so forgive me if there are errors) and self-published the book on Blurb.com. The book is up for sale now and you can click on over and order yourself a copy. I make no money from the book sales, so if you like what I do here on the blog and are interested in the book but don’t want to spend $28, I’m also offering a free PDF download of the entire book. I do it all for you, my friends, so why should I charge admission for stuff that already exists here?!

I will say that the books turned out beautifully, and the quality of the print definitely exceeded my expectations – which is quite a feat, since I’m a graphic designer and print buyer by trade. So, which ever version that you decide to use to take a peek at my book – consider it a New Year’s Gift from me. Here’s to a new decade of health and happiness!

Cheers, and Happy New Year! Thanks for making my first year of blogging a good one and raise a glass to more great food in 2010!

9 thoughts on “New Year, New Cookbook

  1. This is just inspiring. I really was hoping the money would go to you if I bought the book. Although, I still may just buy it anyways🙂 You are inspiring me to start one of my own…..eventually.

  2. Thanks, ladies! I could have set the price to make some money off of it, but I decided against it – for one, I don't want to file a 1099 form with the IRS for the $20 I might make off the books. Second, the base price is already $28, and to me that feels like the limit of what I'd pay for a cookbook, and mine is only 80 pages. Em – I'll bring my copy into the office next week, so you can take a look at it, so that you'll be convinced that you need to make your own next year. For $28 a piece (plus my hours at the screen), it was a wonderful, personal gift.

  3. Jenn – it's so awesome! I am majorly majorly impressed and envious of your design skillz! Did you use photoshop? I thinks it's gorgeous and it has so many personal touches with your recipe descriptions AND pictures! LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT! Definitely an inspiration for the new year🙂

  4. Thanks, Heather! I used Photoshop to edit the photos, and InDesign to do the layout…but Blurb.com has a pretty sweet app you can download to use their templates to make books – they even have a blog plugin that will slurp content straight from your blog into the templates – you don't need mad design skillz to make something pretty great. I'll be waiting for your cookbook next year!🙂

  5. Yeah for you—your new cookbook looks great. What a wonderful way to help me keep one of my resolutions–to eat better in 2010.

  6. Congratulations Jenn, This is really amazing! It's going to be one of my favorite collection of recipes!

    • You’re so welcome! Enjoy the book…and don’t feel like you need to buy a hard copy – every thing is there in the e-book, and for now, I haven’t marked up the price of the hard-copy, so I don’t get any profit from it. Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

