Pumpkin Black Bean Soup


I have to make a confession. As much as I love the foods of the fall harvest season, I am incredibly picky about the squash I eat. I love butternut, delicata and spaghetti squash. I do NOT love pumpkin and acorn squash, and I struggle to use them up every time they appear in my CSA box. Which makes me feel bad, since Kevin seems to love the pie pumpkins so much. I usually end up feeding half the squash we receive to the dog, as he has seasonal allergies, and some roasted squash puree helps his tummy out a lot.

Earlier this week, Kevin posted a recipe for pumpkin black bean soup, and I thought this was something I could get behind, as is seemed a straight-forward black bean soup with some pumpkin puree added for some body in the soup. And I have to agree with Kevin, that the finished soup is excellent. It has all the zing of my typical spicy black bean soup, but the pumpkin adds a nice earthy, grounding note to the finished soup. Give it a try!

Pumpkin and black bean soup
Adapted from Closet Cooking

serves 6

1 T oil
1 onion, diced
2 carrots, diced
3 banana peppers, seeded and diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 T ground cumin
1 T chipotle puree
salt and pepper to taste
4 cups broth (chicken or vegetable)
2 cups roasted pumpkin puree
1 (19 ounce) can black beans (rinsed and drained)
1 (14 ounce) can diced tomatoes
1/4 cup dry Sherry (or dry white wine)
1 handful cilantro (chopped, optional)
1 cup diced lean ham (optional)
1 handful toasted pumpkin seeds (optional)

  1. Heat the oil in a large dutch oven
  2. Add the onions, carrots and banana peppers and saute until tender, about 5-7 minutes.
  3. Add the garlic, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper and saute until fragrant, about a minute.
  4. Add the broth, pumpkin, black beans, tomatoes and sherry and simmer for 30 minutes.
  5. Remove from heat and puree to the desired consistency – I like my bean soups to stay pretty chunky, so I only puree with my immersion blender for a minute or so. Taste and adjust seasoning.
  6. Add the diced ham (if using).
  7. Serve garnished with cilantro and toasted pumpkin seeds.

344 cal/serving; 60cal from fat, 6.4g fat, 20mg cholesterol, 770 mg sodium, 960mg potassum, 52g carbs, 13g fiber, 20g protein

8 thoughts on “Pumpkin Black Bean Soup

  1. It's Emily's mom. I made the Pumpkin & Black Bean Soup yesterday! It was really good. I went the easy route and used canned pumpkin. I really could not taste a pumpkin flavor, but the soup had a very nice thickness. I noticed your additions. I will consider those for another time.

  2. Looks great Jenn. I have a small pie pumpkin sitting on my counter – and it has been there for about 3 weeks now. The soup looks so good – just may put that pumpkin to good use.

  3. Thanks, ladies! Nothing wrong with canned pumpkin, Sara! I've always got a couple cans in the pantry (though admittedly the dog eats it more often than I do).

  4. This looks fantastic – I've been on an elimination diet for …gasp… 9 months (long story), but this actually fits the bill perfectly. I've been craving some spicier Mexican dishes, but no corn, no wheat, no dairy has kept me on the sidelines. I found your blog from your post on the "Dashew Bars" (sadly I'm still not allowed to eat nuts). I work with a local Chicago startup called element bars, and I'm always scoping out great ideas out there for new bars (especially gluten free options)! If you're anywhere the Evanston area, we'll be near the Davis St. Metra for the last Farmers' Market of the season this Saturday (10/31/09) morning. We'd love to offer you some tastes of our bars and chat about homemade bars.

  5. Great meeting you at the market on Saturday – and sorry we don't have any bars yet made in a totally gluten free facility. Soon, I hope!We made the pumpkin black bean soup – and I left it simmering too long while raking leaves, so it reduced to a thick sweet chili of a soup. Luckily a little water reconstituted it to an amazing spicy delight.We're giving a tortilla soup a try now – I was sad not to find one on the whole kitchen. Any recommendations for good recipes?

  6. Shoot – that's crazy that I haven't blogged my favorite tortilla soup yet – I'll email it to you directly! Great to meet you yesterday!

  7. I just made this yesterday for a friend of mine who has a strict gluten-free diet, and was sick. It was so delicious I made an extra batch for my family too. Thank you for sharing. I am bookmarking your blog and am offically a fan:)

Leave a Reply

