Pear Crisp


Aside from ice cream, fruit crisps are probably my favorite dessert. Fruit crisps are a crunchy, crumbly, buttery dessert with seasonal fruits that are meltingly soft from roasting and fragrant with your favorite baking spices. I remember learning to bake my first crisp when I was a teenager, from my mom’s well loved, spiral-bound Betty Crocker cookbook – you know the one – bent pages, spattered with food from years of cooking. My brother and I both learned to bake from Betty.

But after going gluten-free, I struggled for a few years with trying to bake gluten-free – there were many failures, stuff that was dry, crumbly and honestly – tasted like dirt. Today, there are so many more gluten-free flours and mixes and honestly GOOD products and recipes, that I have much more confidence when I do decide to bake. There are also so many of us out here now blogging about living gluten-free, that I can always turn to my online friends – Shauna, Betsy, Elana, Lisa, and many others, who offer their own recipes and help me craft ideas for my own. It takes a world of gluten-free bloggers to come up with great, gluten-free baking recipes and to test all the products out there!


This is perhaps the best crisp I’ve made yet. Rather than doing the usual thing of using 2-3 different flour blends, I tossed a half cup of pancake mix into the crisp, and it was perfect! The pancake mix added a bit of sweetness, and along with the butter, helped hold the crumble together very well. We devoured this crisp in a couple days, and hope that I find some more bargain-priced bruised pears at the farmer’s market to make more crisp this weekend!


Pear Crisp
Serves 5, 1 cup per serving

5 large ripe Bartlett pears, diced into bite-sized pieces
4 T cold butter
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp fresh grated nutmeg
3 T maple syrup
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Pancake Mix
1/2 cup Gluten Free Oats

  1. Preheat the oven to 350. Grease a 10×10″ square baking dish. Dice the pears, and toss them into the greased dish. Sprinkle with the cinnamon and nutmeg, and drizzle 1 T of the maple syrup over the pears, and stir with a spatula to coat.
  2. In a separate mixing bowl, combine the pancake mix, brown sugar and oats and stir to combine. Then, chop the cold butter into small pieces and scatter the butter over the dry ingredients. Using a pastry cutter or a fork, work the butter into the dry ingredients until it becomes crumbly. Then, drizzle the last 2 T of maple syrup over the dry ingredients, and work in a bit more, until you’ve got a slightly moist, buttery concoction.
  3. Using your fingers, spread the crumble loosely over the pears, then bake for 45-60 minutes, until the pears are soft, the crumble topping is golden brown, and the kitchen smells of pears and spices. Allow the crisp to cool for 20 minutes, before serving. If you have some vanilla ice cream on hand, you know what to do.

377 calories per serving, 90 cal/fat, 10.4g fat, 25mg cholesterol, 120mg sodium, 300mg potassium, 73g carbs, 9g fiber, 45g sugars, 3.4g protein
Daily Burn nutrtional info

4 thoughts on “Pear Crisp

  1. Looks great – we love making crisps and they are great gluten-free – my friend eats it up every time :)Hope you feel better!

  2. Look at you baking in the kitchen! Love the recipe. I have some apples in the fridge from the orchard to use up so I may try to make it a GF version.

  3. I know – me baking is pretty crazy! But crisps are both easy and SO tasty…and when you buy a quart of bruised pears, it's the perfect dish.

  4. Pingback: Chewy Oatmeal Cookies…Gluten-Free « The Whole Kitchen

Leave a Reply

