Cold Curatives: Eat your Veggies & Drink Your Tea


Doesn’t it always seem like colds swoop in at the least convenient time? There’s never really a good time to have a cold, but two days before you’re giving a couple of workshops at a weekend conference…is not a good time for a cold. Nevertheless, I’ve got one. And I am doing my homeopathic best to get rid of it – NOW.

So, I thought I’d give you a peek behind the curtain and share with you what I do to get rid of a cold. And it’s NOT chugging NyQuil and its ilk – that stuff is poison. I mean that sincerely, too – it is a serious drug. But also because of a secondary immune disorder that I have in addition to celiac disease, I cannot take any non-steroid anti-inflammatory drugs (advil, ibuprofen, aspirin, alleve) – and most every cold med has some form of NSAID in them. That leaves me with more natural remedies, and generally, they work just as well as anything the pharmacy has.

First, I went to see my beloved Network Chiropractor, Dr. Liz, who helps balance my body and spirit, and is always ready with a kind word and additional homeopathic support for anything that’s got my body down. After seeing Dr. Liz, my golf ball sized lymph nodes immediately deflated by half, and I knew I’d sleep better for having seen her.

As soon as I feel my lymph nodes inflate, I do the normal things – Vitamin C, zinc, water, herbal teas (peppermint with licorice root is my favorite). Wanting to get as many vitamins in my body as possible, I roasted up a bunch of sweet potatoes with garlic, olive oil, rosemary and a dab of chipotle puree. I then sauteed up a big bunch of mustard greens with yet more garlic, and served both with some leftover chile-scented brown rice that I had in the fridge. I made enough sweets and greens to hold me over for a couple days of healing eating, so I don’t have to spend a lot of time at the stove.

Now, my real vitamin boost comes from making my own live, raw juices. I don’t drag out the juicer nearly enough, and I somehow forget how much I love raw juices…probably because cleaning the juicer is a real pain in the ass. But anyhow, when I’m sick, I go for a basic carrot, apple, celery juice – about a pound of carrots, 1 apple, 1 stalk of celery and a small knob of ginger create 1 cup of immune boosting juice. And I fully expect that with this regime I’ll be back to feeling well tomorrow.

And in the meantime, with a day at home, it’s the perfect opportunity to make a big pot of chicken stock, and roast up some squash for soup for the weekend.

Update: 24 hours after my first sneeze, and a day of raw vegetable juices, sweet potatoes and greens, I feel pretty great. Still a tiny bit of nasal congestion, but no sinus pressure, no runny nose, cough, and I have a good amount of energy! Get yourself a juicer, people!

Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Chipotles & Garlic
Serves 3

3 sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed into bite-sized pieces
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 T olive oil
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 T chipotle puree

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees, and place your sheet pan in the oven while it preheats.
  2. Combine all the ingredients in a large mixing bowl and toss to coat. Remove the hot sheet pan from the oven, and spray lightly with olive oil. Pour the sweet potatoes onto the tray in one layer, and roast in the oven for 30 minutes. Stir, then roast for another 10 minutes before serving.

196 cal/serving, 40cal/fat, 4.8g fat, 0mg cholesterol, 450mg sodium, 600mg potassium, 37g carbs, 6g fiber, 8g sugars, 2.8g protein
DailyBurn Nutritional info


Peppermint Licorice Root Tea
Makes 2 cups

2 T loose, organic peppermint tea
1 T loose licorice root
Boil water, pour over tea leaves and steep for 12 minutes, then strain and serve.

Have you ever had Aveda’s soothing, minty tea? This is the very same thing, at only a fraction of the cost. I LOVE peppermint tea, and the licorice root gives it a slight bit of sweetness with NO sugar. I order my loose tea in bulk from the lovely folks at Culinary Teas in Indiana. And after you drink your tea, you can dump the leaves into a large bowl, pour more boiling water over them, throw a towel over your head, and use the mentholated steam to help clear congestion. See how healing peppermint is?

2 thoughts on “Cold Curatives: Eat your Veggies & Drink Your Tea

  1. I hope you are feeling better! When I was young, I always watched the infomercial (I was obsessed with them) for Jack Lelane's Juice Tiger. I always wanted to order one but Mom and Dad always talked me out of it. I'm jealous you have a juicer – even if you only use it every so often. What brand do you have?

  2. I feel pretty amazing this morning – lots of energy (carrot + ginger = immune jet fuel), and am back to work, with only minor nasal congestion – no sinus pain or aches. I'm a definite believer in the healing power of raw juices, and wish we could replace all the Starbucks with raw juice stands – now THAT would be a health revolution! I have a pretty inexpensive Hamilton Beach Juicer – it's a little bit of a pain to clean, and if I had to do it over, I'd get one with the "big mouth" opening, so I didn't have to do as much chopping to cram the veggies in there. http://www.amazon.com/Hamilton-Beach-67800H-Juice-Extractor/dp/B0002CA3TY/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1256218425&sr=8-4

Leave a Reply

