Concord Grape Sorbet


Sorry about the double-ice cream posting this week, but I wanted to get this one out there in case you might want to pick up a bunch of grapes and whip some of this up while grapes are in season.

One of my favorite fruits of fall is the humble concord grape. Often overlooked at the farmer’s market, I’d highly recommend picking some up since the grape season is so fleeting in the midwest. But mostly, tart, pungent grapes remind me of my grandfather.

Grandpa kept a big garden, and I have fond memories of picking strawberries (and mostly eating them) when I was little. And in the fall, I loved to wander into the grape arbor and eat the very tart grapes right off the vine. I would squeeze the grapes out of their skins and pop the slimy, tart center straight into my mouth, making the back of my jaw twinge just a little. I still love eating grapes that way, though I’ve no grape arbor to pick them from.

But instead of just snacking on the grapes this time, I decided to try out a grape sorbet – and I am so glad that I did! David Lebovitz has a recipe in the Perfect Scoop, but I didn’t have quite enough grapes for his recipe, so I tossed in a cup of blueberries, which are always nice in a sorbet, as they add a smoothness to the finished sorbet. The finished sorbet tasted simply of fresh purpley grapes, and I think I’ll be making at least one more batch of this before the grapes disappear from the vines and markets.

Concord Grape Sorbet
Makes 3 cups
1/2 cup serving: 90 cal, 27g carbs, 20g sugar
DailyBurn full nutrition info

1 1/2lbs concord grapes, stems removed
3 T water
3 T light corn syrup
1 cup frozen, unsweetened blueberries
squeeze of lemon juice
1 T vodka

Pour the grapes into a medium saucepan along with 3 T water, and heat over medium while covered. Cook until grapes have fully softened, have burst and let out most of the juices – about 10 minutes. Place a fine mesh sieve over a bowl, and strain the grape juice into the bowl, pressing to get all of the juice out. Discard the seeds and skins, and pour the grape juice into the blender. Add 1 cup of frozen blueberries and the 3 T light corn syrup, and puree until smooth. Add the vodka. Pour into a storage container to chill thoroughly, then churn in your ice cream maker.

2 thoughts on “Concord Grape Sorbet

  1. Trust me Betsy, you NEED David's ice cream cookbook…next to Mexican Everyday, it is definitely the most used cookbook in my kitchen!

Leave a Reply

