Breakfast on-the-go: Egg Muffins


I haven’t done a breakfast post in awhile, so I thought I’d resurrect an oldie but goodie for a weekend post. Two years ago Mark’s eccentric doc told him to lose some weight, and to try the South Beach diet. Being the nutritional nerd that I am, I picked up the book to see what it was all about. We did the first two weeks of torture where you eat no carbs or fruits (not eating fruit was SO hard!), and then transitioned into the more moderate plan. We both lost about 20lbs, but come summer fruit season and biking season, I couldn’t do it anymore. My body needs complex carbs. I eat steel-cut oats for breakfast nearly every morning, love my brown rice, and when I’m biking 22 miles a day, I need some carbs for fuel.

So, South Beach wasn’t for us in the long-term, but it did bring down Mark’s weight and cholesterol quite a bit, and given how much I cook at home, we do pretty well, health-wise, and I don’t worry about my carbs/sugars so much, just watch what I eat on a more global scale. But there are a few recipes from the South Beach era that have stuck with us, and these egg muffins are one of them.

These little muffins are a quick, portable breakfast for busy mornings – whip up a batch on the weekend, and you just need to grab one in the morning, microwave it for 30 seconds to heat them up, and you’ve got a good breakfast in hand. I usually combine one egg muffin with a granola bar or piece of fruit for a full breakfast. You can also make these with all egg whites, or a mix of whites and whole eggs as I tend to do, since I always have leftover egg whites from making ice cream base.

Since these are pretty much like crustless quiches, you can toss whatever meat, cheese, and veggies you have lying around the house into the cups. I’m not going to post the whole recipe here, as Kayln has written the recipe so well, it seems a shame to re-write her instructions.


Egg Muffins
123cal/muffin, 70cal from fat, 7g fat, 5g carb, 1g fiber, 105mg cholesterol
Daily Burn nutritional info for recipe

Full Recipe on Kayln’s Kitchen

My muffins contained: 3 slices bacon, crumbled, 2oz grated cheddar, Sauteed veggies: diced red potatoes, bell pepper, onion, spices.

The muffins keep very well in the fridge for about a week, just tuck them into sandwich bags.

4 thoughts on “Breakfast on-the-go: Egg Muffins

  1. Haha…I love the Mark & the Muffins pic! I remember making a muffin similar from the Biggest Loser DVD (Yes, they had a cooking segment in the "extras") It was Jennie-O Turkey Taco Muffins. I guess I never realized an egg would cook up so well in a muffin tin. They were yummy, but the ingredients in yours sound even better!

  2. Yeah, the Mark pic was spontaneous and how could I resist publishing it?! I love these muffins, and you can toss any kind of veggies you have on hand in there – just dice fine and saute them up…bacon + cheese is pretty much required in my book, though. I used pecorino cheese in the batch I made last night and I think I liked that more than cheddar.

  3. Pingback: Guest Post: Eggs, Boiled, Hard; or Cooking with Engineers « The Whole Kitchen

  4. Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple ipad and tested to
    see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she can be
    a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views.

    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

Leave a Reply

