Irish Cream Ice Cream

I guess I’m out to prove that I’ll try anything in the ice cream maker. We were out of ice cream, out of sugar, dairy, and I wanted to make some ice cream for Friday night. Rummaging around the pantry, I found a can of sweetened condensed milk, which I usually use to make the homeade irish cream…which led me right to making – irish cream ice cream! It turned out perfect – tasted just like the cocktail, without the alcohol. I flavored it with chocolate and coffee extracts from the Spice House, and swirled in a mocha ripple as I scooped the freshly churned ice cream into the storage container. And best of all, preparing the base is as simple as dumping it all in the blender, whiz it up for a few seconds and then you’re done!

Irish cream ice cream
Makes 1 quart

1 14oz can sweetened condensed milk
1 13.5oz can coconut milk
1 1/2 T chocolate extract
1 1/2 T coffee extract
a few drops of almond extract

Pour all ingredients into a blender. Blend for a few seconds until it gets a little frothy. Pour into a storage container and chill overnight. Turn in your ice cream maker and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

