Dried Apricot Ice Cream – Dairy Free


I got a new ice cream maker for my birthday. Her name is Betty, and she is fire-engine red, and oh-so pretty. My old ice cream maker that has put in hard-service for 7 years was starting to complain about mix-ins and was tricky to clean. So with a generous amazon gift certificate from my brother for my birthday, I bought Betty.

And for my first batch of ice cream, David Lebovitz’ Dried Apricot ice cream caught my eye…and has now stolen my heart. Like David, I adore dried apricots, and really have to watch my apricot-scarfing, as they are not a low-cal snack! My favorites are the California slab apricots from Trader Joes – they have a nice twangy tartness, and always seem pretty fresh. I did want to make this one dairy-free, so I went with an all-coconut base. The pectin in the apricots and the thick milk made for a VERY creamy ice cream…Mark thought it was too creamy, and I informed him that it simply wasn’t possible for ice cream to be too creamy. I’d definitely make this one again, and it’ll be a nice bright flavor for winter, when other fruits aren’t available.

The recipe also calls for steeping the apricots in white wine – I used my current favorite Vinho Verde Gazela white wine – it’s light, crisp, slightly bubbly, and less than $10 a bottle. You really couldn’t detect the wine flavor in the finished ice cream, but I did enjoy a couple glasses of Gazela with dinner last night on the balcony.

Dried Apricot Ice Cream
adapted from David Lebovitz, The Perfect Scoop

2 cans canned coconut milk (Choakoh is the best Thai brand)
5oz dried California apricots, roughly chopped
3/4 cup light white wine
1/2 cup sugar
a few drops of lemon juice

Warm the apricots and wine in a small saucepan. Bring to a simmer, and cook for 5 minutes. Turn heat off and cover. Let the apricots steep for an hour. Then, pour the apricots and wine, sugar, coconut milk and lemon juice into the blender and puree until smooth. Chill thoroughly before turning in your ice cream maker.

2 thoughts on “Dried Apricot Ice Cream – Dairy Free

  1. I'm sure you had to take quick pictures with the humidity outside today! I've never thought of dried apricot ice cream, but like you, love having them around in the pantry. Congrats on the new Betty. I'm sure we will be seeing more ice cream posts throughout the summer.

Leave a Reply

