Egg Salad

I love eggs, in every way that there is to cook them – scrambled, poached, fried, soft-boiled, hard boiled, in quiche, on toast – I’d happily eat eggs everyday. And eggs are definitely a spring food. In these days of the industrial farm, we can get eggs anytime, and even our organic farm shares offer eggs year-round. But there is something very special about the first pasture-raised eggs of the season – they’re fresh and creamy in a way that the eggs raised solely on grains are not.

I had gotten some beautiful eggs at the farmer’s market on Saturday, and a few of them went into an ice cream base. I knew that I wanted to use a few of them to make up some egg salad for lunch this week. I love egg salad sandwiches on freshly toasted bread. Unfortunately, I wasn’t feeling well on Saturday, so I didn’t get up to the gluten-free bakery to get a loaf of bread, but I’m just as happy to eat egg salad on my new favorite gluten-free crackers.

There’s nothing too fancy about my egg salad – chop up the eggs, and fold in some minced chives and blossoms, a few minced capers, salt, pepper, wholegrain mustard, and a bit of mayo – not too much. Mix and serve.


(If you’ve never hard boiled eggs before, here’s how I do it. Place eggs in a saucepan and cover with 1″ cold water. Add a splash of vinegar to the water to make peeling easier. Cover the pan and bring to a boil. As soon as it boils take it off the heat and let the covered pan sit for 10 minutes. Then, remove the eggs and place them in a bowl with ice water for 5 minutes, then peel)

One thought on “Egg Salad

Leave a Reply

