Mango Lime Sorbet

It’s mango season right now, and as mangoes are one of my very favorite fruits, you may be seeing quite a bit of them around here for awhile. I’m a bit picky about my mangos, though. I like them ripe, and that means that they must be very soft to the touch. The regular green-red Mexican mangos are okay, but I adore the golden Manila mangos – they’re also called “Champagne” mangos at some stores. They’re smaller than the green mangos, and the flesh is much creamier, and less fiberous. When Manila mangos are perfectly ripe, they’re not only soft, but the skin begins to get a tiny bit wrinkly. Manila mangos are perfect for a sorbet application.

You’ll also find the best price on mangos at your local ethnic produce market. I stocked up on 5 Manila mangoes on Sunday, and by Wednesday morning they were perfectly ripe. One word of advice for the mango lovers out there – pick up a serrated vegetable peeler for prepping your mangos – it’ll easily peel even the ripest mango, without bruising the flesh.


This evening I made up a fresh batch of oatmeal in the rice cooker, and stirred in a finely diced mango to the finished oatmeal – I’ll be looking forward to breakfast tomorrow. Next, I moved on to the mango sorbet. I use a good amount of lime juice in this sorbet, and it really highlights the ripe mango flavor…and makes me want to make up some mango-margaritas as soon as the weather warms up!

Stay tuned for more mango madness in the next couple of weeks. I’ve got my eye on a few of Kevin’s vast library of mango recipes, a few of which may make an appearance on this blog.

Mango Sorbet

Makes 1 quart

Serves 8

5 large, ripe manila (also known as champagne) mangos, about 4 cups of cubed flesh
juice of 2 limes
2/3 cup simple syrup
2/3 cup water
2 T tequila

  1. Heat the sugar and water in a small pan on the stove, stir a few times. Turn heat off when all sugar has dissolved. Set aside to cool a bit.
  2. Peel the mangoes with your serrated veggie peeler. Slice the flesh off the pits and cut into large chunks. Place the mango, sugar syrup and lime juice in a blender, and puree until smooth. Add 2 T tequila, and pour into a storage container, and chill in the fridge until cool. Turn the chilled puree in your ice cream maker, and then serve.

143 cal per 1/2 cup, 35g carbs, 18g sugars

8 thoughts on “Mango Lime Sorbet

  1. Hi Jenn! I’m one of Emily’s buds (from the iron chef parties!). Love the mango sorbet. I just happended to have made mango-agave sorbet saturday, with champange mangoes! it had a special ingredient – tequila! yummers😉

  2. Nice to meet another one of the “Iron Chefs!” Oooh, tequila would be great in this – I’ll have to add that instead of rum next time.

  3. I also wanted to say that I remember your ice cream and sorbet posts from last summer, and it really made me want an ice cream maker more…now here we go again with the deliciousness. Do you mind telling what kind of machine you have and how you like it?

    • Thanks, Amy! You *definitely* need an ice cream maker! I have the 1.5qt Cuisinart machine – I think it’s about $50 on Amazon, and it definitely well worth the expense. The hardest part is making room for the bowl in the freezer!

Leave a Reply

