Spicy Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Bleu Cheese

Today has been one of those wild midwestern Spring days. It was sprinkling and 70 degrees when I went out with the dog this morning, and then the sun came out for awhile, before the rain rolled back in again. We really wanted to get out on our bikes again this afternoon, and the weather cleared up long enough for us to ride a few miles to have lunch at our favorite hot dog joint. We stopped at Whole Foods on our way back, and in the 15 minutes that we were in the store, the temperature dropped 20 degrees. On our now chilly ride home, we were drenched with fat drops of icy rain.

Spring is like that here – one moment teasing you with a taste of summer, and the next dousing your summer dreams and begging you to put the kettle on for a warming cup of tea. So instead of grilling some steaks for dinner as I’d planned this morning, I was back to roasting up some humble roots for a simple dinner.

I came across a brilliant recipe for roasted sweet potatoes with bleu cheese on the Mango & Tomato blog – it looked delicious, and seemed like the perfect comfort food for this cold, wet day. I did make a few changes to Olga’s recipe, kicking up the spice level with some chipotle puree, garlic and cumin. And I was not disappointed. The finished dish was a beautiful combination of spicy and sweet, with the punguent blue cheese adding a nice counterpoint to the hot chipotles. The crunch of pecans and fresh parsley were a nice finishing touch. I’ll definitely make this one again.

Spicy Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Bleu Cheese
Serves 2 as a side dish, or 1 as a main course

10 Weight Watchers Points, total

1 large sweet potato
1 tsp chipotle in adobo puree
1/2 tsp cumin
1 tsp olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
salt to taste

Garnishes:
parsley, minced
1 oz bleu cheese, crumbled
2 T pecans, toasted and chopped

  1. Preheat oven to 450, and place a rimmed baking sheet in the oven while it preheats.
  2. Peel the sweet potato, and cube it into 1″ pieces, and place in a medium sized bowl. Spoon in chipotle puree, and add cumin, olive oil, garlic and salt. Toss to coat.
  3. When oven is preheated, remove the sheet pan and spray with oil. Pour the sweet potatoes onto the sheet pan in one layer, and roast for 35 minutes. Remove from oven, and turn out into serving bowl, and top with bleu cheese, pecans and parsley. Serve.

7 thoughts on “Spicy Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Bleu Cheese

  1. This recipe could be one of those wild card dishes that you bring to a Thanksgiving dinner. What doesn’t go well with bleu cheese too?!

  2. Exactly…I do try to eat bleu cheese as often as possible – especially since we can now get my favorite Hook’s cheeses through our meat CSA. Now I’m just sad that I only had one sweet potato, as I’d love to have this for dinner again tonight.

  3. Hi, Jenn! I’m so glad you finally tried this recipe🙂 Glad you liked it.Maybe I should make this again…it’s been a while.

  4. Pingback: Thanksgiving Round-Up « The Whole Kitchen

  5. I had this for dinner last night (again) – perfect with some roasted chicken. And I made plenty so I have leftovers! I even caught the cat trying to swipe a sweet potato chunk while my back was turned.

    • You’ve got a smart cat there, trying to swipe the sweets! I’ve gotten a bit lazy on some nights, and just poked a few holes in the skin of sweets, cooked them in the micro, and then just split and top with a little butter, chile pepper, blue cheese and pecans…almost as good, in a fraction of the cooking time!

Leave a Reply

