Blueberry Muffins


We woke up this morning to another cold, wet Spring morning, and I really wanted some pancakes for breakfast, but I only had enough maple syrup left for a batch of granola bars. I needed to come up with an alternate breakfast plan.

I’ve still got a couple bags of blueberries in the freezer, so I checked out my favorite gluten-free bloggers to see if I had all the ingredients I’d need for some muffins, and mostly I did, with a few modifications. As usual, Gluten-Free Girl had a recipe that sounded both delicious and simple enough for my limited patience with gluten-free baking. I am so thankful that there are gluten-free bakers out there like Shauna – I would not have the patience to play with all the gluten-free flours to come up with the right proportions to make tasty baked goods with a soft crumb – they’ve done all the work for me, and I just have to bake them up.

I halved Shauna’s recipe, as we didn’t need 18 muffins (knowing that they’ll all be gone by the end of the day). I used greek yogurt instead of regular yogurt, and corn flour in place of tapioca. I also added cinnamon, a few grates of nutmeg and a healthy glug of vanilla, as I love it so much. The muffins turned out perfectly, a nice crunchy crust on top, and soft and fluffy inside. Topped with a pat of melting butter – it was the perfect breakfast for such a dreary morning.

Blueberry Muffins
Based on a recipe from Gluten-Free Girl
Makes 9 muffins

4 Weight Watchers points per muffin

5 tablespoons unsalted, soft butter
1/2 cup white sugar
1 large egg
2 teaspoons lemon zest
1/2 cup sweet white sorghum flour
1/2 cup white rice flour
1/2 cup corn flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp fresh grated nutmeg
1 tsp vanilla paste (or extract)
3/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cups plain 0% fat greek yogurt (I use Fage)
1 cup blueberries (frozen are fine)

Preheat the oven to 375.

  1. Combine all the dry ingredients together. Set aside.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar together, until just combined. Add the eggs and mix again until just combined.
  3. Add one half of the dry ingredients, mixing well. Add one-third of the yogurt and combine until well mixed. Add one-half of the remaining dry ingredients to the mixture, and combine. Continue this, alternating the yogurt and dry ingredients, until you have mixed both of them in, completely.
  4. Fold in the blueberries with a spatula.
  5. Oil a muffin tin, then sprinkle a little cornstarch on the bottom of each cup. Fill muffin cup two-thirds full.
  6. Bake the muffins for about 35 minutes, or until the tops have browned and started to harden. Test with a toothpick to make sure they’re done all the way through, then cool on a rack for 5 minutes, before turning the muffins out of the pan to serve.

Leave a Reply

