Other People’s Blogs: Agave Sweetened Chocolate Ice Cream

What’s a girl to do with a few lonely egg yolks leftover after making a batch of macaroons? Lemon curd or ice cream? I only had one lemon on hand, so poor me, I had to resort to ice cream. And I felt like making something a little more decadent, so there was only one man to turn to – Mr. Ice Cream himself, David Lebovitz. Not only has he written a cookbook about ice cream, he writes a truly sweet blog about dessert and his life in Paris.

I found a recipe for an Agave-sweetened chocolate ice cream on David’s blog, and I had all of the ingredients, so I made up the base. I did use half coconut milk, half dairy, as usual, and I only used the three egg-yolks I had leftover from the macaroons. I haven’t made a true custard-based ice cream in a long time, and while it takes a little more effort than my usual ice creams and sorbets, it is SO worth the extra effort.

The finished ice cream has a velvety creaminess that is only achieved with the addition of egg yolks. And this ice cream packs some serious chocolate power – this is a very rich, adult ice cream, to be savored in small bowls, preferably shared with friends.

2 thoughts on “Other People’s Blogs: Agave Sweetened Chocolate Ice Cream

  1. I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.Kayleehttp://www.craigslisttool.info

Leave a Reply

