Night at the Improv: Spicy Sausage Rice with Eggs

Let me tell you a story of my empty fridge and a little improvisation. I did a lousy job of grocery shopping last week due to the nasty cold I had, and I still wasn’t feeling great this weekend. Mark was out of town (and the car with him), so when the weather turned sour and rained, then snowed, I decided that I just didn’t have the energy to walk the 6 blocks to the grocery store to buy produce for the week. Conveniently, this strategy left me more time to lie about on the couch and read more tales of vampires in the South, so that worked out fine for me.

I had planned to roast a chicken for dinner this evening, but Mark’s job was conspiring against me, and he’s working late tonight, so no roast chicken. With limited vegetable matter in the house, it was time to improvise from the pantry. I had some leftover tomato sauce and italian sausage from the pizza I made last night, but no pasta. But I did have brown rice.

So, I made a sort-of sausage-rice casserole in the rice cooker, and I have to say, it turned out great. The sausage and tomato sauce infused a lot of flavor into the rice. I probably would have been perfectly happy to just eat a bowl of the rice, but I’m always looking for new dishes with which to sop up beautiful yellow yolks from over-easy eggs, so I tossed a couple of eggs on top. YUM. I wasn’t going to blog about this one, as it’s not a picture perfect kind of meal, but halfway through the bowl, I just had to take a photo. The lighting is a little dim, as I was so interested in eating, that I didn’t want to get up and go back to the kitchen for a properly lit photo. My apologies. Next time, I would probably add some diced onion to the pot, but my pantry is so bare, I don’t even have an onion!

Spicy Sausage Rice with Eggs
Serves 4 as a main dish

1 1/2 cups short grain brown rice
1 clove garlic, minced
1 link italian sausage, casing removed, and broken into small pieces
1 cup jarred tomato sauce (I used Newman’s Fra Diavolo)
2 cups water
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

  1. Combine all ingredients into rice cooker bowl, stir. Cook on “brown rice” setting. When the rice is done, eat as is (maybe top with some parmesan), or top with over-easy eggs.

2 thoughts on “Night at the Improv: Spicy Sausage Rice with Eggs

  1. What a great improv meal! I’m sure some Rancho Gordo beans thrown in there would be great too. Fingers crossed for weather that allows for grocery shopping this weekend! I was just at WF today and they have kumquats. Guess who got a huge bag?!?!

  2. Oooh, you’re right – some beans would be a great addition to this one. I’ve been thinking about picking up some more kumquats myself…

Leave a Reply

