Strawberry Ice Cream

I know, I’m beginning to get a little obsessed with making ice cream. I can’t help it, though – I need a little something sweet to perk up these fledgling days of early spring, when nothing green has yet come into our world.

All summer long during the luscious berry season, I buy up as many berries as my freezer can hold, then flash freeze them on a sheet tray and pour the frozen berries into gallon-size freezer bags, to hoard for the long winter ahead. Blueberries, strawberries, raspberries and peaches all find space in my freezer so that they make their way to the table when they will be most appreciated.

I can’t decide if this recipe is an ice cream or a yogurt, since I put coconut milk, cream and Greek yogurt in it, but I can tell you that it was very good. I love the tang that the Greek yogurt added to the dessert, and the thickness of the yogurt adds extra creaminess. The finished ice cream perfectly highlights the beauty of perfectly ripe strawberries. I’ll be counting down the days until mid-June when the berries will come again.

Strawberry Ice Cream
Serves 8, makes 1 quart

1 (14oz) can coconut milk
2/3 cup agave nectar (or white sugar)
3 cups frozen strawberries
1 T vanilla extract
pinch of salt
2 T rum*
squeeze of lemon juice

  1. Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. If using frozen berries, pour directly into the frozen bowl of your ice cream maker and churn. If your strawberries are fresh or thawed, chill the mixture thoroughly before churning.

*Rum is optional, but it helps keep crystals from forming in the finished ice cream.

One thought on “Strawberry Ice Cream

  1. I’m thinking you just might turn into a popsicle over there. So you are getting me 1 step away from buying my ice cream maker. If I’m going to make one, which one do I try first?

Leave a Reply

