Coconut Cinnamon Ice Cream

I guess you could say I’ve become a little obsessed with my coconut milk based ice creams. I’ve made the cardamom ice cream twice now, and last weekend, I decided to give it a different spice treatment, and went with cinnamon instead. The resulting ice cream was smooth, creamy and had great cinnamon flavor. I made the base a day ahead of time, so the flavors blended more thoroughly overnight. Then, when Lucy & Pete came over for dinner, they brought a delicious gluten-free apple pie with them, so it was a perfect combo!

Cinnamon Ice Cream
Serves 6

1 cup half & half
1 14oz can coconut milk
1/2 c brown sugar
1 T cinnamon
1 T vanilla
1/4 tsp nutmeg
2 T rum

Combine half and half and coconut milk in a saucepan. Bring to a boil, then simmer for about 10 minutes, until it thickens slightly. Remove from heat & pour into a storage container (not plastic). Stir in cinnamon, nutmeg & rum. Refrigerate until chilled, overnight or at least 4 hours. Turn in your ice cream maker 3-4 hours before serving, then pour finished ice cream into a storage container and pop it into the freezer until you’re ready to serve. ‘

4 thoughts on “Coconut Cinnamon Ice Cream

  1. Have you seen the rice dream cookbook? It is all dairy, gluten, & refined sugar free recipes. I like the idea but haven't had great outcomes. I've been wondering about trying to go half way between those (coconut milk based) & the full dairy recipes I have, but wasn't sure what ratios to start with. I may have to try this one as my starting point!

  2. I’ve done an all coconut milk ice cream, and it turns out just fine, and since I love coconut milk, I like it just as much as regular ice cream – plus coconut has natural sweetness, so you really only need about 3T agave to sweeten it. I haven’t seen the Rice Dream cookbook – I’ll have to take a look at that, though I’m not a huge fan of Rice Dream – I generally prefer almond milk.

Leave a Reply

