More Kumquats: Curried Chutney

Yes, I am back with more kumquat chutney…actually, I was just looking through my recipe index, and realized that I never posted the recipe for the savory kumquat chutney that I put on the porkchops. So, with that – here’s to more chutney!

I love chutneys, always have. As a kid, we always had Major Grey’s chutney with broiled pork chops – which we usually accompanied by mom’s homeade applesauce, and if we were really lucky – good old Kraft Mac. I really enjoy the sweet-tart-spice balance of chutneys and really, I’d be happy to eat chutney on crackers, or just on a spoon. But chutney really does belong with pork. This chutney really puts Major Grey back on the shelf for me. The puckery flavor of fresh kumquats is mellowed in this slow simmered condiment. The hot curry and vinegar are the perfect balance for the tart fruit, and the cardamom adds a slightly Indian flare to the chutney. I think I’ll be going back to Tai Nam to get more kumquats before they are out of season. I want to have a tub of this stuff on hand for awhile.

Kumquat Chutney
Makes 1 1/2 cups
1 Weight Watchers point per 2 tablespoons

1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup champagne vinegar
2 T chopped crystallized ginger
2 T dried cherries
1 tsp. hot curry powder
1 1/3 cups thinly sliced seeded kumquats divided
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

Cook first 5 ingredients and 1 cup kumquats in heavy small saucepan over medium heat until reduced to scant 1 cup, stirring occasionally, about 20 minutes. Transfer to small bowl. Chill until cold, then mix in remaining 1/3 cup kumquats and cilantro. Season chutney to taste with salt and pepper. Serve warm or chilled.

Leave a Reply

