Better Nutter Butter: Cashew Butter

We’ve had a tiny taste of Spring here in Chicago…Thursday afternoon, it was as if the entire city awakened from its long winter slumbers, took a deep breath and went outside to drink in the warmer weather. But these first days of spring are no time for slow strolls by the lake…the first breath of Spring is a time for leaping, for sprinting, for getting out into the city parks and as Nike says – Just Do It! I was on my bike for the first time in nearly 4 months, and SO happy to be back on two wheels. I have the best commute in the world the 8 months of the year that I’m on bike.

We also know that winter does not let go so easily in this city, and there may be cold, gray days ahead, perhaps even a bit of snow. So these first days of Spring are to be treasured.

When I was at the market this morning, I discovered that they removed the grind-your-own peanut/almond butter machines. I love fresh nut butters, and was sad to see the machines disappear, because I don’t buy jarred nut butters. Fresh ground nut butters are a world apart from the jarred stuff, and taste of nothing but the nuts. Plus, I like to choose for myself whether I want to add salt or honey to my peanut butter. So, this morning I whipped up some cashew butter in the food processor and it is delicious. It only takes 5 minutes to put together once you’ve toasted the nuts in the oven, and the resulting butter has a far more personality than anything from a jar. This cashew butter is so good, it’s hard to resist grabbing a spoonful anytime I open the fridge. I used some of the butter in a fresh batch of granola bars, and the rest will be used to make a spicy thai stir fry sauce later in the week.

Cashew Butter
Makes 1 1/2 cups
2 Weight Watchers points per tablespoon

1 1/2 cups raw cashew pieces
5 T walnut oil (may need more, depending on how thick/thin you like your butter)
salt to taste
squeeze of honey

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place nuts on a sheet pan, and toast for 10-15 minutes, until they start to turn golden. Pour toasted nuts into your food processor, and let it run for a minute or two, until the nuts are finely ground and start to form a ball around the blade. Begin adding the walnut oil one tablespoon at a time while the machine runs, stopping a couple of times to scrape down the bowl with a spatula. When the butter has reached the consistency you like, add a sprinkle of salt and squeeze of honey, and pulse the processor one more time to incorporate. Taste, adjust seasoning, then store the finished butter in the fridge.

9 thoughts on “Better Nutter Butter: Cashew Butter

  1. I'd been making a lot of almond butter for a while, but even with toasting/roasting my nuts couldn't get the same flavor as the jar version I like. That and the fact our food processor is super loud & I can't use it most of the day while DH is sleeping, and I went back to the jar. For something in a small batch like cashew I might pull it out again. DH working 1st shift would help that too!!

  2. zebe – get yourself a white noise machine for the bedroom – since I go to bed much earlier than Mark, it’s saved me – he can play rockband with people in the next room, and I don’t hear a thing! Yep, cashew butter is good on toast, for sure…it’s probably my favorite nut butter.

  3. You like cashew butter better than PB? Then I might have to give this a go. Why did they take out the machine at your WF?

  4. I think cashew might be my favorite because I don’t make it as often…but let’s be real, I’m happy to eat a spoonful of any nut butter in the fridge!πŸ™‚ No idea why they removed the machines in WF, but they’ve been disappearing all over, I’ve noticed.

  5. Now I wish I had a food processor. Just yesterday I was thinking I would never need one. I was at Hopleaf on Saturday and had their CB&J deal (cashew butter, fig jam and morbier cheese.) Yum!

  6. Great post. I love cashew butter. I hope you don’t mind, but I used your cashew butter photo in a similar blog post of mine at blissmiss.com. I referenced your site at the end and included a link, so you get credit and possibly some traffic.πŸ˜‰ I’ll take it down if you prefer. Just let me know. Take care!

Leave a Reply

