DIY: Irish Cream


Trolling through Tastespotting the other evening, I came across a recipe for DIY Irish Cream, and I thought that would be interesting to make. I really enjoy the occasional mug of hot cocoa with a shot of Bailey’s in it. These days, there is something sinister in the bottled stuff that gives me eczema on my hands, whether it be gluten or something else. So, I gave the homeade stuff a shot. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to the bottled stuff. This liqueur is thick, rich, creamy and fresh-tasting in a way that Bailey’s will never be. It makes a lot, so invite some friends over to help you out. Be sure to use very fresh eggs (the Chicago Farmstand & True Nature Foods both carry fresh, local eggs year-round), and the liqueur will last in the fridge for a month. Next time I make this, I think I’ll try using half & half instead of heavy cream, to lighten the caloric load and thin out the consistency a bit. And I may add some of the liqueur into my next batch of ice cream. Yum.

Irish Cream
Serves: a lot – approx 20, 1oz servings

3/4 cup whiskey (I used Jameson’s)
1 cup sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup half & half
2 eggs
2 T chocolate syrup
2 T instant espresso
1 T vanilla extract
1/4 tsp. almond extract

Add all ingredients except whiskey into your blender. Mix on low speed for a minute or two. Taste and adjust flavorings – adding more chocolate syrup or espresso as needed. Mix again, then add whiskey, blend slowly to mix, and pour into a bottle for refrigeration. Liqueur will keep for 30 days if properly chilled.

2 thoughts on “DIY: Irish Cream

    • The alcohol definitely does work to preserve the eggs, but really, the risk of bacteria is pretty low in this between alcohol and refrigeration. I’ve kept this stuff in the fridge for a month, and it’s been fine, and I have a sensitive tummy.

Leave a Reply

