Kumquat Love: Chutneys abound

A few years ago, my friend Elon introduced me to the wonder that is the Tai Nam Vietnamese Market. They carry a dizzying array of asian foods, fresh fish, produce, and kitchenware. I love wandering up and down the aisles, imagining what I would cook with various ingredients, and puzzling over items I’ve never seen before. I hadn’t been back to Tai Nam in awhile, but a post on Closet Cooking about Pho made a trip back to Tai Nam an imperative. The market carries a wide variety of fresh rice noodles that are truly excellent (and gluten-free!).

The thing about ethnic markets is that even when you go with a list, ideas bubble up in your head as you walk down the fragrant aisles, and other things jump into your basket. This week, kumquats were one of many things that came home with me. I really didn’t have any idea what I would do with them at the time, but I’ve always loved the tart little orbs.

Gluten Free Girl was my first stop on the kumquat recipe search, and came up with a lovely post with a recipe for a kumquat marmalade…so I made it – with a few revisions, of course, as I can’t ever seem to make a recipe as-is. And then I checked out epicurious.com, and found a recipe for a curried kumquat chutney – YUM. So I made that one too.

I’m planning to spoon the kumquat marmalade on top of our morning oatmeal for a bright burst of citrusy flavor. The chutney will definitely be served with pork chops at some point this week, and I’ll post that recipe later on in the week. In the photo below, the curried chutney is on the left, and the marmalade is on the right.



Kumquat Marmalade

Serves 6

1 Weight Watchers Point per 2 tablespoons

2 cups kumquats, sliced thin and seeded
1/3 cup agave nectar
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup crystallized ginger, diced

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to a bare simmer. Cook for 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally. The marmalade is done when the fruit is soft, and the sauce has thickened to a glossy, spoonable consistency.

4 thoughts on “Kumquat Love: Chutneys abound

  1. You can tell that we are usually stuck cooking at night with dark pictures. The kumquat shot is so light! That looks so incredibly good. I’ve never had a kumquat but have seen them at WF. Great idea with the oatmeal.

  2. Yep – and there is no natural light in our place. I actually took the kumquats and chutneys out on the balcony and photographed them in the snow, since it was so pretty yesterday.🙂

  3. So I am going to get around to blogging about this but for dinner tonight I had WF Twelve Grain bread toasted with brie cheese and chutney. 1 work….delicious.

Leave a Reply

