Dreaming of Holden: Cream of Tomato Soup

This is one of those meals that shares a special time and place in my life. Most of us grew up with tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches, a la Campbells, and it was definitely a favorite growing up…Mom always served tomato soup with popcorn, and you’d garnish each creamy spoonful with a couple kernels of popcorn – delicious.

But later, tomato soup found a new place in my heart when I went to live in a beautiful retreat community called Holden Village. I spent my days painting buildings and driving 2 ton trucks in the remote mountain community. Most days, lunch was a bowl of hearty homeade soup, green salad and bread still warm from the oven. All the food there was GOOD, and the conversations around the table made mealtimes a highlight of each day. But on days when cream of tomato soup was on the menu, I rejoiced. This is the best tomato soup I’ve ever had, and it’s dead simple to make. At Holden, it was usually served with herby, cheesy, warm bread…I don’t bake much in my gluten-free life, so I go back to the standby my mom taught me, and serve with popcorn, and maybe a salad.

I have revised the original recipe a bit, to trim off a few calories (no cream cheese or sour cream), and I like my soup a bit on the spicy side, so I add a spoonful of chipotle puree. Otherwise, this is pretty faithful to the original.

Cream of Tomato Soup
Serves 6
4 Weight Watchers points per serving

1/2 large onion, minced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 T fresh rosemary, minced
1 T fresh thyme, minced
1 T butter
1 T basil
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1 28oz can tomato puree
1 14oz can diced tomatoes
1 T chipotle puree
2 cups water
1/3 cup honey
4 oz soft goat cheese
1 cup Fage Greek Yogurt, 2% fat
salt to taste

Garnish with air popped popcorn

  1. Heat a large soup pot over medium heat. Add 1 Tb butter, onion, garlic, rosemary and thyme and saute until onions are softened – about 5 minutes. Add basil, black pepper, chipotle puree, tomato puree, diced tomatoes and water. Heat until it comes to a simmer.
  2. Add honey, goat cheese and 2% fat Greek yogurt, and stir gently to incorporate. Reduce heat to low, and allow soup to blend for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Adjust seasoning as needed, and serve with air-popped popcorn.

One thought on “Dreaming of Holden: Cream of Tomato Soup

  1. Pingback: Tomato Soup with Fennel « The Whole Kitchen

Leave a Reply

