Chard & Sun-dried Tomato Risotto

Risotto is probably one of my favorite meals – warm and comforting, you can add just about anything to the base recipe for flavorings. When I was just starting out on my gluten-free adventures, risotto was my replacement comfort food for mac ‘n cheese – it fills the same desire for starchy, savory goodness. Tonight, I opted for chard, sun-dried tomatoes and a little pork for my risotto. The technique here is the same as in the mushroom risotto, so I won’t repeat the whole recipe this time.

A few notes: Saute 6oz of pork sausage (if using) prior to cooking the risotto, drain on paper towel and set aside. Add the sun-dried tomatoes when you add the first cup of broth – I also added some red pepper flakes and thyme at this time. I use a full bunch of chard in the risotto – it wilts down beautifully, and red chard turns the risotto a romantic rosy color. Wash and chop the chard into bite-size pieces, removing the tough ribs. Stir in all of the chard when the risotto is about half-done, or about 15 minutes after you’ve begun adding broth to the rice. Add the sausage when the risotto is just about done, after about 30 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Chard & Sun-dried Tomato Risotto

  1. do you recommend a type of sun dried tomato? I always have a problem with picking ones packed in oil and they taste so tart. I can’t seem to find a brand that I like. mmmmm risotto. A perfect meal for a snowy night.

  2. I usually just buy them dried from the Spice House – theirs seem to be less tart than what you get at Whole Foods, with a better tomato flavor. I generally prefer the dried ones to the ones packed in oil. I also like the roasted tomatoes in olive oil at Whole Foods that they sell in the olive bar – those have a nice tomato-y flavor, and none of the tartness, and would work really well in pasta or risotto.

Leave a Reply

