Snacktime: Cinnamon Spiced Popcorn

Do you love popcorn like I do? I’m not talking about that nasty stuff that comes in a chemical brick that you put in the microwave and then burn, making your co-workers smell it in the office all afternoon. Real popcorn does not cause a smelly fug that hangs in the air.

Popcorn, for me, is a little like breakfast foods – I could eat it pretty much anytime. Buttered, plain, with truffle salt, chili oil & salt, olive oil & parmesan, pesto, basil oil and garlic…there’s a million ways to eat popcorn – its the perfect starchy base for your favorite flavors…and it’s better for you than potato chips!

I was craving a sweet/salty snack this evening, and this popcorn and takes the idea of Kettle Corn to a whole new level with cinnamon and nutmeg. Sometimes I think the best thing about being a grown-up is that I can have whatever I want, whenever I want…and this is what I had for dinner tonight. My mom taught me this recipe, and I’m not sure where she got it, but I know she makes it with her special ed students, and that they love it too.

In our winter farm shares, we received adorable little miniature ears of popping corn – I wish I had taken pictures of the colorful little ears. I decided to take on the considerable task of taking all the corn off the cobs this afternoon, and that was a finger-numbing experience! Those little kernels are sharp, and it takes awhile to rub all of them off the cob. Anyway, after all that work, I wanted to enjoy the fruits of my labor. (And my thumb is still sore, 5 hours later)

Cinnamon Spiced Popcorn
Serves 2 (3 cups popped corn per serving)

1/3 cup unpopped popping corn
1 Tb butter
1 Tb brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
pinch of salt

Pop the corn in an air popper. Meanwhile combine the other ingredients in a small bowl and melt in the microwave. Stir, so that everything blends together, and the sugar and salt mostly melt. Pour the melted mixture over popped corn, and stir with a spatula, making sure to get some seasoning on most of the kernels. Enjoy!

Now, how do you like your popcorn? Share your favorite flavors in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “Snacktime: Cinnamon Spiced Popcorn

  1. I love popcorn any way I can get it, but it is one of my biggest no-nos. If I eat it, I can almost guarantee and pretty awful headache 36-48 hours later. This stuff is way more obvious than gluten for me.

  2. Oh, I’m so sorry zebe! But, I totally understand that feeding yourself safe, nourishing foods is WAY more important than what our brains tell us to crave. Wheat stuff truly isn’t even tempting anymore – just not worth the pain. 🙂

  3. Fantastic picture Jenn. I love the Casia cinnamon from The Spice Merchant and if I am going to eat nutmeg it has to be freshly grated, otherwise it tastes like socks. I don’t make a lot of popcorn but salt and cayenne pepper are my toppings of choice. Oh and you can’t beat the every so often treat of Garrett’s caramel corn.

  4. Pingback: Black and White Popcorn « The Whole Kitchen

Leave a Reply

