Taking the Chill Off: Sangria

Temps have not risen above freezing for about a month now, so I decided we needed a little taste of summer with dinner last night. Sangria is one of my favorite summertime beverages, especially sipping it at our favorite pub with a good burger in the beer garden. No beer garden this week, but a nice pitcher of sangria definitely took the edge off another very cold night.

Sangria
2 bottles red wine (not dry)
1/3 c triple sec
1/3 c brandy
1 can pineapple nectar (11oz)
1 can mango nectar (11oz)
1 granny smith apple, chopped in small pieces
2 limes, sliced in small pieces

Pour the wine in a pitcher, add chopped fruit and let the fruit marinate overnight. When you’re ready to serve, the next day, add triple sec, brandy, and juices. Stir, and serve over ice.

2 thoughts on “Taking the Chill Off: Sangria

  1. Sangria has always been a summer craving for me, but I’ve never found a perfect recipe. Yours sounds a bit sweeter than others so maybe I’ll like this one. I’m on a two week alcohol ban (drs orders) so this will have to wait at least that long😦

  2. Thanks! Yeah, I like to sweeten my sangria with fruit juice, rather than sugar, and this had a nice balance of wine and fruit flavors…now if only I could have some 80 degree weather to go with it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

