Coming in from the Cold: Hearty Lentil Soup

The last week of blisteringly cold weather has really put me in the mood to make soup, but I suppose that is an every-weekend feeling this time of the year. But with an extra chill in our home due to the extreme cold, a warm bowl of soup was a welcome comfort at the table.

We received our last vegetable CSA box of the season on Thursday, and the selection was truly the flavors of deep winter – lots of storage veg to hold us for the next few weeks. Our fridge is now stocked with lots of potatoes, carrots, onions, turnips, parsnips, salsify, cheese and eggs to fill our bellies with hearty fare. After that, I’ll have to return to buying all my produce at the store, and while I feel sad about that, I’m grateful that we’re able to feed ourselves fairly exclusively on local veg for 8 months of the year, and year-round with local meats.

This lentil soup may be my favorite soup that I make. It is hearty, chunky, and I like to add a little siracha sauce to add a little spicy kick. The white wine, tomatoes and herbs complement the earthy lentils very well, and a little red wine vinegar at the end brightens the whole pot.

Lentil Soup
8 servings
6 Weight Watchers Points per serving

2 large carrots, peeled and diced
1 large onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 stalks celery diced, leaves reserved and minced
1 bunch chard, leaves torn into bite-size pieces & stems diced
1 T butter
3/4 c white wine
3 bay leaves
1 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp fresh ground black pepper
1 T smoked paprika
1lb dried lentils, rinsed
7 cups chicken stock
2 cups italian tomato sauce (jarred is fine)
2 cups water
1 smoked turkey thigh, skin and fat removed
salt to taste
1 T siracha sauce, or to taste
1 1/2 T red wine vinegar

  1. Heat large soup pot over medium heat. Add butter, onions, celery, chard stems, carrots, and garlic and saute for 5 minutes. Then, add the white wine and cook for another minute.
  2. Add bay leaves, thyme, pepper, lentils, chicken stock, tomato sauce, water and turkey thigh. Bring to a simmer, and cook for about an hour, or until lentils are tender, stirring occasionally. When lentils are tender, season with salt and siracha to taste. Remove the turkey thigh and set aside to cool.
  3. Turn off the burner, and fold the chard leaves into the pot. Let the soup sit for a couple minutes until the chard is wilted. Taste and adjust seasoning. Stir the red wine vinegar into the pot.
  4. Remove the turkey meat from the bone, and chop, then add to the pot of soup, stir and serve.

6 thoughts on “Coming in from the Cold: Hearty Lentil Soup

  1. I’m making soup today as well. I always make lentil soup after I’ve had a little leftover ham, but have never tried it with a turkey leg, which is healthier than ham and I like that.And also, what sort of camera are you using? Your pictures are great!

  2. And of course I got the turkey thigh from the Huron WF!🙂 I’ve actually been longing for a digital SLR for awhile, where I can manually focus. Right now, I’m taking the photos with a simple point-and-shoot Cannon Powershot Elph SD200. The photos have been better since I got a tabletop tripod for Christmas, and I’ve been muting the under-cabinet lighting by covering it loosely with a sheet of paper.

  3. Great idea with the tabletop tripod. I was at home for the day on Sunday and my parents had one at their house. It’s mine now! I’m using a Canon powershot right now. I have my eyes on the Canon 20D DSLR clocking in at a whopping $499 right now. I need to justify spending that money on a camera that doesn’t fit in my bag to carry around all the time.

  4. Pingback: Adopt a Gluten Free Blogger: Hearty Lentil Soup - This Fuller Life

Leave a Reply

