Caesar Salad

I love caesar salad…but not that gunky stuff that comes out of a bottle. If you’ve been following along on my blogging adventure, you’re probably not surprised that I don’t buy salad dressings in bottles – it seems silly when you can make something so much better in under 5 minutes, at home. And, its always nice to see that Mark Bittman agrees with me…though I’m sure he stopped buying bottled dressings long before I did. Going gluten-free ended my affair with bottled dressings and improved my salads!

I’m not sure I can really teach you how to make caesar dressing with a specific recipe, I can tell you what to put in it, but you’ll have to whisk it up, and taste for yourself, and adjust the proportions to your own taste. What I can tell you is that once you make your own bright, lemony caesar salad, you may not hit the bottle ever again, either.

Caesar Salad
6 Servings
3 Weight Watchers points per serving

1 egg yolk, coddled
juice of half a lemon
olive oil, about a 1/4 cup
1/4 tsp ground black pepper, or to taste
anchovy paste, about a teaspoon
dijon mustard, about a teaspoon
dash of worchestershire sauce
1 clove garlic, finely minced
2 tablespoons finely grated parmesan cheese

  1. Heat a small pan of water, bring to a boil. Place egg in the boiling water, and boil for 60 seconds. Remove egg, separate egg, and place the yolk in a small bowl. Add lemon juice, mustard, anchovy paste, garlic, worchestershire sauce and whisk together for a minute. Start drizzling the olive oil in, and taste as you go until the oil balances the lemon flavor. Once the dressing comes together, add the parmesan cheese, and give it one last stir.
  2. Toss with greens, and garnish with more parmesan cheese. I confess to liking Bacos on my caesar salad, too…shocking, right?!

Leave a Reply

