OPB: Flourless Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies

Other People’s Blogs (OPB): Flourless Chocolate Cookies
Makes 40 cookies
2 Weight Watchers Points per cookie

Confession: I am not a baker. I can turn out the occasional batch of tasty cookies, but it doesn’t come as naturally to me as savory dishes. It’s a trickier business to riff on baking recipes, and doubly so when it comes to gluten-free baking…yet, I have a complete inability to make a recipe “as is,” without changing a thing or two.

Enter the “Chocolate Gloop Cookies,” as I am going to call them. The recipe on Sass & Veracity looked so simple and her cookies were so pretty, I decided to give it a whirl. I chose to make them with hazelnuts instead of almonds, to make an almost nutella-flavored treat. YUM.

The first problem – I discovered that I no longer own any cookie cutters! I vaguely remember giving the couple of cutters I had away a few years ago, realizing that I had never used them, and I really can’t remember the last time I made cookies that need rolling out. So, my cookies are not pretty. Oh well…I can forgo pretty, if they’re still tasty.

Second hurdle…I believe that the egg whites from the beautiful eggs that we get in our CSA are much larger than average…so rather than a stiff dough I was expecting, I had a very sticky, gloopy mess on my hands. The flavor of the dough was very tasty, though. In order to roll out the dough, I used the GF baking trick of placing the dough between two sheets of parchment paper, and then rolling – worked like a charm.

I was hoping that the three hours of setting the cut cookies out on the counter prior to baking might help firm them up, and I was right. I baked them as directed, and the finished cookies are chocolaty, chewy and quite delicious, almost more like candy than a cookie. Hopefully a few of these will make it home to Michigan for Christmas, but they may not last that long.

Leave a Reply

