Roasted Sweets with Homeade BBQ

It’s snowing like crazy outside this evening…probably 5 inches on the ground already, and it doesn’t look like it is slowing down anytime soon. Nights like tonight make me long for being a student, desperately hoping for a snow day, so we could sleep in, and then go out and play in it. Unfortunately, there’s no such luck in the world of grown-up jobs and paying the mortgage.

I did go out and play in the snow with the dog when I got home this evening. Turbo *loves* the fresh snow, and leaps through drifts, kicking and spinning, and inevitably slamming into me with his rump on the backside of a good twirl. That’s how I know he’s a happy dog – when the rump-bumping starts. We enjoyed a good romp through the empty, snowy streets before returning home to think about dinner.

I knew I wanted something warm and comforting, and given the snow situation on the roads, I knew Mark would not make it home in time to dine. I wanted a simple dinner, and sweet potatoes seemed the perfect fit. Roasted sweets, with slightly crisp edges, and meltingly soft inside make a perfectly good meal in my book. Add a little homeade BBQ sauce – bliss.

BBQ Roasted Sweet Potatoes
Serves 2

5 Weight Watchers Points per serving of potatoes

1 WW point per 2T of BBQ sauce

BBQ Sauce
1 T smoked paprika
2 T brown sugar
2 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground black pepper
1/2 cup ketchup
3 T light molasses
2 T grated onion
2 T Worcestershire sauce
1 T Dijon mustard
1 T stone ground mustard
1 T cider vinegar

Mix above ingredients in a 2-cup storage container. Voila! You now have BBQ sauce! Sauce will keep for a couple of months in the fridge.

Roasted Sweet Potatoes
2 large sweet potatoes
1 T vegetable oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 tsp ground pepper
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp kosher salt

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Peel sweet potatoes, and cut in 1/2 inch rounds, then place in a large bowl. Pour oil over potatoes, then toss to lightly coat. Add garlic, pepper, cumin and salt, and toss again to distribute spices evenly.
  2. Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil, and spray lightly with oil. Turn potatoes out onto cookie sheet, and spread out in one layer. Bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes. Remove potatoes, and turn each round over, then bake for another 20 minutes. Serve with homeade BBQ sauce for dippin’!

4 thoughts on “Roasted Sweets with Homeade BBQ

  1. Some grown-ups can have snow days. 🙂 I’m sad that the snow stopped. I was really hoping we’d get a snow day tomorrow…

  2. Love this idea! I have a sweet potato in my cabinet so I just might make this tomorrow. I’ll see if I splurge to make the sauce too or I may just make a money mustard sauce to go with.

  3. Glad you’re all going to give it a try! I know, I’d have loved to see you tonight too, J, but better for us all to be safe and off the roads, right?!

Leave a Reply

