Strawberry Rhubarb Oats

It was time to make another batch of steel cut oats for breakfast this evening, and I wanted to mix things up a bit. I happen to have a freezer brimming with beautiful summer fruits – blueberries, strawberries, peaches and rhubarb…a small bit of the summer sunshine to last me through the long, dark winter.

I decided that I’d try the delicious duo of strawberries and rhubarb, and the results are…WOW. I used the same recipe posted here. I added 1 cup of frozen rhubarb at the beginning, and cooked the oats as normal. I added 2 cups of frozen strawberries once the oats were done, and let them defrost and impart their sweetness to the finished oats. I am really looking forward to breakfast tomorrow!

One thought on “Strawberry Rhubarb Oats

  1. Pingback: Ginger Syrup & Crystallized Ginger « The Whole Kitchen

Leave a Reply

