Chipotle Bean Soup

It’s Sunday, which means I spend the morning communing in my kitchen, creating a pot of soup for the week ahead out of whatever is in the fridge, and as you can see from the CSA post a couple days ago, there’s a LOT in the fridge right now, so the options were fairly endless.

I knew that I wanted to use some of the amazing beans from Rancho Gordo, and I wanted something spicy and brothy…what happened in between evolved as my hands sliced and chopped. The resulting soup is both light and hearty – perfect for the cold days ahead, and I expect that some of it will travel with me to Michigan this week for the Thanksgiving feast ahead.

Chipotle Bean Soup
Serves 7

4 Weight Watchers Points per serving

Beans:
1/2 lb dried anasazi beans (pintos are very similar, if you can’t find anasazi)
1 carrot, peeled, sliced in half, lengthwise
1 stalk celery
1 small onion, halved
2 bay leaves

Soup:
1 beef soup bone, about 1lb (optional)
1 large onion, diced
1 leek, sliced
3 carrots, peeled and diced
2 stalks celery, diced
1 T olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 sprig fresh rosemary, minced
1-2 chipotles in adobo, minced
1 can diced tomatoes
3 cups chicken stock
2 cups reserved bean liquid
2 bay leaves
1/2 cup parsley, minced
salt & pepper

  1. Soak the beans overnight, covered with 3″ water. To cook the beans, add beans and soaking water to a large pot. Cover with at least 1″ water. Add carrot, celery, leek, onion and bay leaves. Bring to a boil, cook for 5 minutes at a rolling boil, then reduce heat to low, and simmer for 1-2 hours, until beans are tender. Set beans & liquid aside.
  2. Heat large soup pot over medium heat. Add 1 T olive oil, then add carrots, onion, celery, and saute for 7-8 minutes until vegetables begin to soften. Add garlic and rosemary, and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add chicken stock, soup bone bean liquid, chipotle, canned tomatoes and bay leaves and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer for 60-90 minutes, until carrots are tender, and the meat on the soup bone is cooked and softened. Spoon off any fat that may have accumulated around the edges of the pot. Season with salt and pepper, as needed.
  3. Remove soup bone from pot, and set aside to cool for a minute or two. Using a large slotted spoon, remove beans from their liquid and add to soup pot, continuing to reserve bean liquid in case you need to add more liquid to the soup. Stir, and add some of the bean liquid if the soup isn’t brothy enough for you.
  4. Shred the meat from the soup bone, discarding fat and bone, and add the meat to the soup pot. Stir, add minced parsley, and serve.

2 thoughts on “Chipotle Bean Soup

  1. I am patiently waiting for my Rancho Gordo order to arrive. When it does, I am making this recipe. I do have a question….what sort of beef soup bone do you use? I haven’t made soup before with a beef soup bone.

  2. Honestly, I think I’d ditch the soup bone completely next time – it didn’t really add much to the soup, since I was using homeade stock anyway…I just happened to have a HUGE bone in my freezer, and I needed to make room for the heritage turkey we picked up last night.😛 The bone looks like some kind of leg quarter, though. If you asked your butchers for soup bones, they’d know what to give you. I think I would have preferred a chunk of smoked turkey wing/leg in there instead.

Leave a Reply

