Roasted Applesauce

Applesauce was a fixture of our childhood – and I’m not talking Motts. Each fall, mom would make applesauce from scratch, a labor of love that consumed a full day of cooking in the kitchen. I often kept mom company while she canned, though I’m not sure I helped all that much, as everything was boiling and bubbling, and that food mill was a little bit scary. Mom put up dozens of quarts of applesauce for the winter, which my brother and I gobbled up at every dinner through the winter. And I will admit that many a spoonful of applesauce was used as a carrier medium for lima beans, so that I might swallow them whole and not have to taste them.

I haven’t canned my own applesauce yet, but I have come to love my own roasted applesauce. Needing no sugar, and baked with apple cider, this sauce has a concentrated apple flavor that I love. Once you’ve cubed the apples, and pop it in the oven, it needs little attention, and after an hour, you’ve got a meltingly perfect sauce. I like mine chunky, but if you like a smoother sauce, just remove the cinnamon stick, and puree the sauce in the blender or food processor.

Roasted Applesauce
Makes 1 qt sauce

1 Weight Watchers Point per 1/2 cup

10-12 medium sized apples, peeled, cubed into 1″ pieces
1 1/2 cups apple cider
1 T cinnamon
1/2 tsp grated nutmeg
1 cinnamon stick
1 T vanilla (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Peel, core and cube the apples, and put them in a 9×13 pan. Add cinnamon and nutmeg, toss to coat. Pour in apple cider, then add the cinnamon stick underneath the apples.

Bake for 60 minutes, stirring after 30 minutes. Let apples fully cool on the counter – they will reabsorb some of the liquid. Applesauce will keep in the fridge for a couple of weeks, and also freezes very well.

6 thoughts on “Roasted Applesauce

  1. Hi Jenn…I just finished my last batch of applesauce last night. I didn’t attempt canning this year either. I froze mine. I also just got back from the grocery store. I’m trying the roast chicken with root veg. and the almonds this week. I will let you know how it goes.

  2. Beth, glad you’re enjoying the site – I certainly am! Well, polly, when I’m not cooking, I do try to read your mind, you know…๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hi Jenn -It’s terrific that you didn’t use sugar in your applesauce. I am going to make cranberry sauce and thought – “Oh my Gosh, a cup of sugar?” Any recommendations for a substitute?

  4. Yeah, most cranberry recipes have WAY too much sugar – I compromise by making mine with cranberries and apples, to take some of the edge off the cran-tartness. Instead of sugar, you can use agave nectar – its 1.25x sweeter than sugar, but better for you, as it doesn’t spike blood sugar the same way the white stuff does. I’ll probably be making my cran-apple compote tomorrow, and will probably post my recipe when I’m done.

Leave a Reply

