Black and White Popcorn


While Mark and I were kicking back watching House, I felt the itch for a sweet treat, and for once there was no homemade ice cream in the freezer. I went to my other go-to quick snack – popcorn. I wasn’t feeling like making the usual cinnamon-spiced popcorn, so I went rummaging through the spice cabinet in search of new flavors.

Cardmom and garam masala almost won the day, but then I saw my lovely jar of deep, dark dutched cocoa powder from the spice house – ah-ha! Thinking back to that awesome Mexican hot chocolate ice cream, I grabbed the cinnamon too and I was on my way.

Chuck a chunk of butter in a small bowl with a little brown sugar, heaping spoonful of cocoa, a little cinnamon, salt and melt it all together. Make sure you taste the beautiful cocoa syrup to see if it’s got the right balance of deep cocoa, with a hint of cinnamon and salt. Drizzle it on your warm popcorn, give it a stir and watch the bowl magically empty. This is my new favorite TV snack.

What’s your favorite way to eat popcorn? Pop your thoughts in the comments…(or throw popcorn at me for that bad pun).

Black & White Popcorn
Serves 2

8 cups air popped popcorn
2 T butter, unsalted
2 T brown sugar
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 T good quality cocoa powder
1/4 tsp kosher salt
  1. Melt the butter, cocoa powder, brown sugar and butter in small bowl in ┬áthe microwave on low. Watch it carefully so that it doesn’t burn or bubble over. Stir with a spoon to meld everything together. When the sugar and butter have melted together, drizzle over the popped corn, and stir quickly to coat. Ta-da!
274 cal per serving, 130 cal from fat, 13g fat, 36g carbs, 6g fiber, 9g sugars, 4.9g protein

10 thoughts on “Black and White Popcorn

  1. Ironically I attempted to make my own version of black and white popcorn Friday night too. I was watching What Not To Wear and craving something sweet/salty/healthy. I air popped some corn, and shook cinnamon and sea salt on there…since I didn’t use butter, it didn’t stick (which I figured) very well but was still tasty, although your recipe looks and sounds much tastier! I’ll definitely have to try this one soon!

  2. Too funny, Betsy – great minds think alike! I’ve also made this with coconut oil, for the non-dairy approach, which is also quite tasty…but yeah – you need a little fat to make the good stuff stick!

  3. Sounds weird but this works.

    Oil enough for popping corn (depends on your stovetop popper)
    1/3 C unpopped popcorn
    1/4-1/3 C red hots candies

    Put it all in a stovetop popper and pop it. The candies melt and mix with the oil and coat the popcorn as it pops. It’s wonderful

  4. That is so funny… I make this same recipe, which I made up about a year or two ago because I seriously love popcorn. I also add a dash of cayenne in mine because I like the little surprise heat in there. I have also suggested adding lemon juice/zest, orange juice/zest or adding extracts (like a little vanilla or almond extract) into the butter with the brown sugar Thanks!

    • Shelli – I LOVE the idea of playing around with zests and extracts – Brilliant! Popcorn is such a great snack that can be so versatile – I feel like the mega-popcorn-corps are really missing the boat on interesting snacks with all of the ways you can spice and sweeten plain popcorn. Thanks for the additional ideas…I’m thinking cocoa powder and orange zest sounds amazing!

  5. Hi, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

