Not Quite Kruse Muer: Saffron Shrimp Pasta

My favorite restaurant back in Michigan is Kruse & Muer – it’s probably been my favorite restaurant since I was a teenager. Kruse & Muer specializes in seafood, pastas and pizzas…which a lot of restaurants certainly do well, but there is a special magic to the Muer restaurants that starts with a long loaf of the most amazing homeade bread dropped off at the table as soon as you sit down.

I’ve been gluten-free for almost 7 years, and for the most part I really don’t miss all of the stuff I can’t eat. But I still miss Muer bread – and going to the restaurant, smelling it and watching my family enjoy this special treat is almost too much for me to bear. The bread is brushed with butter and topped with poppy seeds. The bread has a chewy crust not unlike the very best bagels, and a soft, fluffy interior. It’s amazing stuff.

Anyway, this post is not about their bread – it’s about my other favorite dish there (which I can no longer eat) – the lobster and shrimp a la creme pasta. It’s a creamy dish of goodness with that mysterious flavor of saffron adding to the beauty of the tomatoes, white wine and cream. I sought to recreate the recipe, and while it wasn’t exact, it was VERY tasty.

Saffron Shrimp Pasta
Serves 3

1 T butter
1/4 onion, minced
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 cup canned tomatoes, diced and drained
1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes, sliced
pinch of saffron threads
3/4 cup white wine
1/3 cup half & half
8 oz raw shrimp
2 handfuls of fresh baby spinach
1/2 cup grated parmesan
salt & pepper to taste

6oz dry pasta

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium heat, add butter, onion, garlic and saute for 2 minutes. Add canned tomatoes, saffron and white wine and cook for 2 more minutes.
  3. Add Pasta to the pot, and cook until al dente while the sauce simmers.
  4. Add half & half and return the sauce to a boil and allow it to thicken – about 1 minute. Add shrimp and spinach to the sauce and cook shrimp through – about 1-2 minutes. Add spinach and parmesan cheese and stir. If the sauce needs to thicken a bit more, add a little cornstarch & water slurry to the sauce.
  5. Drain the cooked pasta and return to empty pasta pot. Pour shrimp sauce over the pasta, toss to coat and serve.

4 thoughts on “Not Quite Kruse Muer: Saffron Shrimp Pasta

  1. Hey Jenn,

    I just discovered your blog, and I love it! Thanks for all your hard work!
    One question: what kind of pasta do you typically use? Do you have a favorite brand? I’m not gluten intolerant, but I’m allergic to wheat, so I’d be interested in your thoughts.

    Thanks!
    Ellie

    • Hey Ellie – Welcome to the Whole Kitchen and thanks for stopping by! Lots of the GFers love Tinkyada, which is definitely good, but I have to say my favorite right now is Trader Joe’s Brown Rice Penne – and you can’t beat it for $2/lb vs $6/lb for Tinkyada. Give it a try!

  2. I always used to go to the Kruse and Muer in Grand Blanc MI before it was shut down, I have never tried anything off the menu other than the shrimp and lobster al le creme with as much of the home made bread as I could eat. Love this dish, I will definitely be giving your recipe a try.

Leave a Reply

